Possible Avenue For Abusing Chainbb

in #chainbb-support7 years ago (edited)

Hey @jesta. Unless I'm mistaken, when someone edits a post it shows up in the api feeds as a new post. I've noticed this on my steemfeed.social and here as well. I haven't looked into it yet, but I figure there's got to be something in the metadata somewhere indicating it's an edit. I hope there is, anyway. The problem this could pose is that someone could continually edit their post (without really adding anything) to keep it at the top of the forum feed so more people will see it. It's only now that i just noticed two rubbish posts from quite a while ago with zero comments on them reappearing at the top of one of the more popular forums.

Sort:  

Good catch, I fixed on variation of this but it looks like there's still a problem with it. I opened a github issue related to this and will take a look to see why it's still happening.

I was using editing of an old post as a dirty workaround to bumping my forum related threads to the top. Sticky threads would solve that issue of course.

Fucking classic. I just caught this @mdo joker making similar auto comment replies to other people's posts. And here, in a thread about potential spam.. Incredible.

Create a bot that automatically downvotes people in a list. Keep that list updated by adding newn names to it everyday. Or just downvote people who use the string "please upvote this comment" :D

Looking at his rep, I think he probably is already on a list. I probably shouldn't say "he", as it's almost certainly a bot.

Very nice content, thanks for sharing
I've resteemed your post!
please up vote this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66