Suggestions for new chainBB featuressteemCreated with Sketch.

in #chainbb-suggestions7 years ago (edited)

Without a doubt chainBB is one of the coolest forums I've seen. I feel like the way it categorizes things is so much better than steemit.

Some suggestions after going through it for a while:

  • As a new user, not having a Post Now button on the home page made it a little overwhelming trying to figure out how to make a post. I think if you added a button to the home page it could possibly take the user to a screen that allowed them to pick from categories or a dropdown listing the popular ones.
    "New Post" button on home screen

  • Before I clicked on any of the categories on the home screen I tried to do a search based on what I was looking for, "Poetry" for example. When I typed in "Poetry" into the search box it listed a few posts, but did not result in the category I was looking for. My suggestion is to have 2 search fields; one for Post Search and the other for Category Search.
    Post/Category search fields

  • In order to prevent users from creating their own categories and subcategories (as this could just create a mess on the forum) I think there should be a section to suggest or request that new categories be created. Maybe allow them to define the primary tag that they want, but if it isn't already an existing category/subcategory within chainBB then it would would have to be approved by admin. Until that happens its categorized under their next tag that is used for their post.

  • Making the Post Body box size adjustable (just vertically would be fine).
  • An awesome favicon is definitely needed!
  • My last suggestion for the time being is to add a "live" side-by-side preview of your markdown, similar to the way this open source online markdown editor does it https://github.com/benweet/stackedit. That way you can see what your markdown looks like as you are typing.

Overall, #chainbb is awesome. I hope there is some way that we can find ways for this to be used for other crypto projects soon. Looking forward to the next version!

Sort:  

@jesta, another couple of minor suggestions here

  • when you click the Reply button it would be nice for the cursor to automatically go into the text field box so that the user doesn't have to click in the text box before beginning to type.

  • Show replies to replies of a post as nested somehow, so that every reply doesn't look like a reply to the original poster. But i do like how its listed based on the time of post and not by the vote weight like the way it shows on steemit.

meep

I'm excited to see what features meep_bot/0.0.2 releases! :)

meep

Hmmm, comparing the posts on the forum to steemit, it looks like all replies go to the original post, and not to replies of other users. So this is just another "test" reply from chainBB by replying to my latest comment.

Well ignore those previous comments and suggestion. I guess I still have some learning to do. Nesting looks wonderful on chainBB for comments to other users.

I am missing posts from my follewers.

I have to comment on the first to see them on my "responses" tab on chainbb.

Thanks jesta! :)

(erroneous post)

@jesta what if there was a tab on each profile where you can view every post a user has upvoted?

I personally think that would just be too cumbersome for the forum. Right now chainBB is simple and clean and should remain that way. Something like steemd would be a better place for that kind of information.

true, I definitely think it is a feature that SOME application should incorporate

I think to have some kind of stats for users might be ok, but not overly details information because it'll just weight down this simple and elegant forum design.

i could agree with that, perhaps that kind of details is more suited for steemd or steemdb

I love it how you can fidget with two decimals.

But nevermind that, I used 100% here.

Don't use 100% powerup. It is worth more to sell SBD at an exchange, buy steem and then power up 100%

Interesting suggestions.

All great suggestions, thanks so much @stoner19 for putting these together. I'll see if I can squeeze a few of them into the next release. You've nailed a few of the minor things that have been bugging me as well :)

Always happy to help friends!

I have followed you bc you seem to know a bit about this stuff! I am new to this and not sure how to make the most of it yet, but willing to learn...Check out my art, if you like and follow me if you like what you see :)

beautiful. feel free to check out my posts and follow ;)

Its pretty cool, I checked it out myself and put a few posts on there, hopefully will engage with some new faces there! Enjoy the upboat!

excellent poste very good @stoner19 thank you for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34