Instant messager function and friends list

in #chainbb-suggestions7 years ago (edited)

Hi @jesta, I have regretted why I didn't start using chainbb earlier as it's such a great forum to view posts and interact with other Steemians. However, I always find it troublesome signing up for Steemchat or Discord and use a different webpage just to chat with others or asking for upvote. It would be nice if an instant messager, like what is in Facebook, is implemented and we can use that to chat with each other. I know it may be a lot of work to do, so I just want to ask if it is feasible?

Another suggestion is that we may have some friends on Steemit that we like or enjoy reading their articles, and sometimes that's difficult to spot them out when they have new posts. So I suggest that a friends list can be added and we can directly see their posts under a specific tag, maybe called friends or favourite?

Thanks for reading this, keep up with you great work and contribution to Steemit.

Sort:  

Favorite tag function will be good, or something like a bookmark will do.
However, direct photo upgrade function is still the no. 1 function I would like chainbb to add. Favorite comes in second place. Internal messaging will be good to have but should this be added at Steemit level?

Thanks for voicing out what probably a lot of us users are thinking, but haven't had the chance to say. I am totally for your suggestions of a 'favourite' tag and an inbuilt instant-messenger chat function.

Unfortunately, I don't have the skills or know-how to do this, so just passive support here! ;)

Thank you, it's so happy to have someone sharing the same view. I don't have the skills either, it all depends on @jesta xD

i agree with both your suggestions and in my opinion without making a separate category of favorites tab, and algorithm can be implemented which keeps in view that the people we interact with more are more frequently highlighted in the feed :) just like facebook does :) it will not hurt to adopt some of the good features from other social medias :)

Oh yes, then we don't need an extra tag. That's a clever idea!

Yes, the more options for us to interact the better we can grow together~

I agree with your two suggestions and I would add having an easy search feature for users on the site. It would be much faster then copy and pasting every username into the URL bar

Don't we have a search function already? What would does your new search feature mean?

I see the custom Google search bar. I am talking about searching for a user (maybe I dont know about it). Everytime I look up a new user, I have to copy and paste their @username into the URL bar

Both good suggestions.

The messaging to other users will likely not be something happening anytime soon simply because I'm focusing on one aspect of the site at a time, first being the things Steem already has. But it's something I've been thinking about and trying to come up with a way to do.

As for the social features on steem and being able to follow and see your friends content, that's coming sooner rather than later!

That would be great, thanks :)

Congratulations @htliao! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45