You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: chainBB's path forward - a discussion on revenue

in #chainbb-news7 years ago (edited)

Hey Jesta, first off I want to congratulate you for being so transparent and open in your development process. This is exactly the kind of communication that I hope to see from developers in the steem ecosystem, and at this point I have tremendous faith in ChainBB and you.

How do you feel about the proposed pricing?

Pricing seems great. One possible addition that seems fair is this: If a forum is started at a lower tier (for example, if I pay you $50 to start an electronic music forum w/ moderation power), the forum should automatically upgrade to the next tier once you've received enough Beneficiary Rewards to cover the cost.

So in other words - if I start a forum for 50 steem, once we generate you a total of 200 additional steems in beneficiary rewards, we would automatically upgrade to the top tier and start earning our 5% share. I suspect this would create a strong incentive for people to promote and build their communities even if they don't have 250 steem to pay up-front (I don't right now, for example).

Is 1 STEEM too much of a barrier or is it too low of a price?

Too low. I'd say you should bump it up to 10 STEEM to prevent a situation where trolls can easily "DDoS" the system by starting a bunch of crappy unused forums.

Would sharing in 5% of the revenue of a forum be encouragement for you to build one? Would the price stop you?

Yes, I am already interested in participating in this model. It seems like a wonderful way to help build the steem ecosystem while earning rewards in the process.

Are you interested in starting a forum? (I may get some early adopters on board at this point, dependant on feedback)

Yes!! As a long-time steemian in the top 500 users by reputation score, I feel like I could be a prime candidate to be a "beta tester" for the new forum model. If you think I'm a good fit, I would love to talk with you about this.

Sort:  

Pricing seems great. One possible addition that seems fair is this: If a forum is started at a lower tier (for example, if I pay you $50 to start an electronic music forum w/ moderation power), the forum should automatically upgrade to the next tier once you've received enough Beneficiary Rewards to cover the cost.

I completely agree, I just didn't want to promise this for the initial release and that part's not completely built. I left some more thoughts along these lines on the comment by @bryan-imhoff and I think between everything that's been said now I have a pretty clear direction on getting it implemented at some point, regardless of the initial pricing.

I definitely think having a way for users to upgrade their forums organically through the system makes a ton of sense.

Yes!! As a long-time steemian in the top 500 users by reputation score, I feel like I could be a prime candidate to be a "beta tester" for the new forum model. If you think I'm a good fit, I would love to talk with you about this.

We should definitely talk then! I'm not ready yet, but will be within days. Today I'm going to try and engage with this post as much as possible and do a bit of development work - but maybe we can chat more directly about it very soon.

I didn't have responses to your other answers but to say thank you hah.

Cool Jesta, that sounds great. I'm on steemit.chat as @heymattsokol so you can hit me up there whenever you want to talk :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64