Uber status in Hong Kong

in #chainbb-general7 years ago

Uber is very popular all over the world. It is a very new idea and brings impact to the traditional transportation industry, especially taxi. There are arguments on whether it is legal or now in many countries. Some of they just accept it; some of them reject it; some of them need Uber to have several license before it roll out.

image

How is the case in Hong Kong? Recently in May 2017, Hong Kong police arrested 21 drivers in undercover operations across the city on suspicion they were operating without hire-car permits and third-party insurance.

For my personal objective, I totally support Uber in Hong Kong. It’s quite ridiculous that Hong Kong, which takes pride in calling itself Asia’s World City, but has shown no tolerance for a ride-hailing service that employs the wonders of technology for the convenience of urban commuters.

And what’s more behind the reason I support Uber is the bad quality of service for the Hong Kong taxi. For most of the Hong Kong citizen who born in Hong Kong and live for more than 20 years like me, I think everyone of us had experience the bad attitude from the taxi driver. Which include impolite attitude, foul language, satirizing you if you only take a short distance of ride, etc.

But you are already so lucky that you can experience their bad attitude. As actually, you can even hardly get on a taxi. Taxi drive would even not let you to get on their car if your destination is in a short distance or not a favorite location for them.

Many Hong Kong residents now prefer to take Uber trips rather than hire taxis because of the big difference in the quality of service. Commuters have more than tons of complaints against taxi drivers, about their boorishness and unprofessionalism.

Uber now offers a healthy competition to the local taxi industry, and the government should encourage such rivalry to improve the overall quality of service rather than stifle it. However, what the government did is encouraging its dominance of the market and providing no incentive for it to improve its service.

So, next time when you visit Hong Kong, you get my upvote for taking Uber than taxi here. But of course, if you want to experience it, just go ahead! As long as you can get one.

Source: http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/news/hong-kong-uber-police-arrest-21-drivers-taxi-app-company-a7751106.html

Sort:  

I totally agree with you. Taxi service in Hong Kong sucks. We need more competition in this area to force the taxi drivers to improve, not just attitude, but also driving technique and safety awareness.
Uber is a proof of how Hong Kong government is going against the majority of Hong Kong citizen in order to protect the interests of the Riches.
It is also why I don't see the future of government incubating "innovation" in Hong Kong.

Yes, you got the point man. There are really a lot of imporovement we can do and we have to do. The worldis all improving. Our boss will ask us to push ourselves up everyday! How can the government just keep allowing the driver remaining the same?

Uber was really a good company!
It provided so many job opportunity to the whole world and benefited us,the users!
Please support Uber!

Yes, exactly. Actually it is a challenge from the new business model came out from the new technology. The government, our boss ask us to improve ourselves everyday, to be continued educated. But how come the government and the law system is not improving? That's totally no reason.

Please kindly follow me if you find my post is interesting. I will post more related. Thanks!

get your upvote to take uber?

lol, I mean I will totally support you take Uber XD. Or make a post on it if you visit Hong Kong, I will definitely upvote your post. Just followed you XD.

The HK govt really sucks. I want to ride Uber and why won't the govt let me do it?

Apart from HK, UBER also have difficulty to survive in Taiwan. The Government is catching the driver random and now they just have to close down the apps.

yup, but I think the root course is different from Hong Kong.

I heard part of the reason is that the taxi in hk if you actually own the license , it is costing so much and therefore there is a huge conflict of interest on that area that cant be resolved. In taiwan, it is mostly on the taxation reason where government dont think uber will pay tax.

Wow, i guess i learned something, thanks for the post man so that's HK huh?

Hah, yes, that's Hong Kong. I will say, it's all the matters of Government..Sad that we have no democracy..Follow me if you like my post, I will post more related! Thanks!

Ye will do.

Totally agree. I've lived in HK and it's very difficult to get a taxi at times and the service can be terrible.

Yes, I think that's exactly most of the Hong Kong people thinking. But the government just ignore our voice. Hope you will not dislike Hong Kong because of this.. Hong Kong people really want to change but the government just suck...

I love HK and I certainly don't blame the people. Many locals and long-term ex-pats told me about their negative feelings towards the government.

Thanks! good to hear that. Please kindly follow me if you find my post interesting. I will post more related. Thanks!

Without competitions, the taxi will remains its shitty service, and exploitation of the drives by the riches, and of course, HK gov is never really interested in what helps the people living there~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66735.55
ETH 3509.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71