Mah Jong , have you heard about this game ?

Today I wanna introduce you a very famous Chinese game, called Mah jong, it is a tile-based game that originated in China. It is commonly played by four players (with some three-player variations found in South Korea and Japan thought), the game and its regional variants are widely played throughout Eastern and South-Eastern Asia and have a small following in Western countries.

Mah jong is a very common game in no matter Hong Kong or China, people treat it as not only gambling, but also a way of gathering, it is very common that family members gather and play mah jong together during festival like Chinese New Year. Also, there are many studies examined that playing mah jong also helps preventing Alzheimer’s disease.

image

The game is played with a set of 144 tiles based on Chinese characters and symbols. In most variations, each player begins with 13 tiles. In turn players draw and discard tiles until they complete a legal hand using the 14th drawn tile to form 4 groups and a pair. There are fairly standard rules about how a piece is drawn, how a piece is robbed from another player, the use of simples and honors, the kinds of melds allowed, how to deal the tiles and the order of play. Despite these similarities, there are many regional variations to the rules including rather different scoring systems, criteria for legal winning hands and even private table rules which distinguish some variations as notably different styles of mah-jong.

image

This is one of the dialogues in a famous movie about Mah jong in Hong Kong. This means remember one’s character of playing cards reflects one’s real character in reality.

I hope you enjoy my sharing 😊 Thank you !

Source of Mah Jong's background info -
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mahjong

Sort:  

Mah jong! I love it very much. Sometime I would think is there any place we can play mah Kong online with bitcoin with people all over the world... As I know that more and more people know to play this game. In my city, it is much more common than poke!

My mum used to live in Singapore and played this game regularly as a child. She taught me how to play it when I was young and while I didn't really fully understand the rules I loved playing with the tiles

Heard about it, played it. It's been a few years now since my last game.

I prefer playing Japanese rule 'Riichi Mahjong' than the Chinese one
Got more technical factors and less luck factors

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56618.92
ETH 2337.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40