[Postcrossing] Germany : Pettson and Findus

[Postcrossing] Germany : Pettson får julbesök

This is a postcard from a boy in Braunschweig, a city with 250,000 inhabitants Germany.
He told me the reason of choosing this card because this card shows how life is in Germany in the day before Christmas.
People are baking Christmas cookies, and the house are decorated, illuminated with candles.
In the time of Autumn, it gets darks after 4 p.m. Life is getting quite and everything slow down.
And at that time, people are waiting for the first snow.

I am imagining how is look like. I live in a city with no dark sky, 24x7 energetic.
In Hong Kong some people believe in Christian God, Jesus, and will go to church in Christmas Eve.
And others, having holidays, gathering, parties, gaming at home, voluntary, etc, anything to spend the peaceful time.

Christmas is my most favorite throughout the year. Cold (not so), and with decoration everywhere.
I especially like the illumination of the Victoria Harbour.

(1)


video by Glenn Batten Youtube Channel

This will last for a few months. The Chinese New Year Fireworks one the harbour is also beautiful.

About Illustration
It is from a Swedish children's book serious, Pettson får julbesök (Pettson and Findus).
The author and illustrator is Sven Nordqvist.

The story is about an old farmer (Pettson) and his cat (Findus) living in a farmer house in the countryside.
A stylish illustration book, and I think I should read it. It was published worldwide in 44 languages. I hope I can get one, at least in library.
More illustration. Many details and telling stories.

(3)

About stamp
Commemorative stamp issued for the 100 years of Möhnetalsperre (Moehne Reservoir) in North Rhine-Westphalia.
Issue date: April 4, 2013
Design: Gerda M. Neumann and Horst F. Neumann, Wuppertal
A reservoir with a long history. Built for helping control floods, regulate water levels, and generate hydropower.
Of course, a tourist spot:)

sources:
(1) http://www.hoteltravel.com/hongkong/hong_kong/hong-kong-winterfest-christmas-with-a-twist.htm
(2) http://www.aldrekontakt.se/produkt/pettson-o-findus-cyklar-av-sven-nordqvist/
(3) http://anillustratorsinspiration.blogspot.hk/2011/03/sven-nordqvist.html

Sort:  

As a Swedish I love Pettson & Findus!
And exactly that book from the picture above, I have it and read it the other day for my children. :)

Really famous story! I found some audio book video on youtube, but in Swedish, I don't understand ;_;
Thank you for your reply! Actually, It is happy to see replies that the reader is from that country, or they had been there, or want to go travel, etc ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54