Karma and Paradigm Shifts

in #chainbb-general7 years ago (edited)


Yesterday as part of Father's day my son gave me a handmade card that I will be saving in a journal that I began when he was born. I intend to leave that journal that contains milestones in his life and my thoughts of his journey as part of his inheritance.

The reason I mention this is that I know there are a lot of 'preppers' out there with a core belief (with lots of research, not saying they are wrong) that the world will crash into anarchy and disorder. The stated preparation strategy is to accumulate food, water, gas, gold & guns to get ready and hunker-down when the time comes. I would like to offer this up for their consideration.

If the proverbial poop hits the fan there will be lots of people that will become vulnerable including the young, old, weak, and the poor. These are not bad people, some of them will not be prepared because they do not have the resources or the strength to be prepared. If all the people who had the intellect and forethought to prepare for a harsh future decided to hide in a cave or a cabin in the woods then those who are vulnerable may be pushed over the edge of survival.

However, if the preppers (who have acquired a diverse set of skills) were to remain with their communities and became part of the solution to rebuild, to protect the vulnerable from exploitation, then we will all be better off for it. If you only look after yourself, in the end you will only have yourself to look after. If you seek to hide in a cave or solitary cabin then that is what you will have. For some I suppose this is fine, they may already feel isolated or expunged from society and they feel society deserves nothing better than to be cut at the roots and burned. This is massively short sighted, if everyone thought like this we would ALL still be living in caves.

I'm not trying to talk the preppers out of being preppers, instead I am asking them to consider a paradigm shift and prepare instead for a better world. For instance what if instead of thinking 'I will need enough fruit to feed myself for 3 years, how do I make that happen', think instead 'my town will need fresh fruit for the next 100 hundred years, how do I make that happen?' Thinking on larger scales will not only be more valuable for your community, if the end of civilization does not occur in your lifetime then you will have a very nice orchard that you can make a very good living off of and be proud of.

Just a thought I wanted to share.

Sort:  

good post keep on steeming

Congratulations @dankh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

this was beautiful, and addresses the negativity that surrounds our political lives

Part of the point is that negativity has never solved, and never will solve anything. The saying goes 'hope for the best but prepare for the worst'. The first part of the saying is incomplete and should maybe be restated "work for the best, hope for even better, expect something average, prepare for the setbacks". Even if I don't know you I can truthfully say that you are working for the best you can, and what more can any person ask from their fellow being?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55