vote with less than 10% of voting power

in #chainbb-bug7 years ago

I posted a new article via the Steemit interfase. My post got autovoted. I removed that vote, since I did not want to cast an 100% vote to my post. I tried to vote the post with about 5%, and the vote wouldn´t go through. When I changed the percentage to a little bit more than 10%, it worked. Maybe there is a downlimit at 10%. Thought I´d comment.

Sort:  

You can not vote in fewer percentages until you got 500 or 1000 SP as per the research I have done. for correct answer similar kind of question, I have asked to @Jesta on one of his post and waiting for a reply.

Thanks.

But I just voted this post of yours at 5.21%, and I have much less SP than that.

STEEM POWER
Influence tokens which give you more control over post payouts and allow you to earn on curation rewards.Part of your STEEM POWER is currently delegated to you. Delegation is donated for influence or to help new users perform actions on steemit. Your delegation amount can fluctuate.
15.994 STEEM
(+27.543 STEEM)

I don´t understand.

Your own sp is 15.994. The sp in () is given to you asa head start, which will fade away in 1 or 2 months, this is basically a favor steemit is doing, so you can earn extra sp meanwhile.

Thanks for the clarification. But either way it is less than 500, right? Or is there something I am missing?

I was trying to determine the exact downlimit. I know now more than 9% works, but less doesn´t. But when I tried to cast the vote with 9%, I found out another thing: there is a limit for the number of times one can change a vote. I´ll keep experimenting with chainbb.

It's a limitation of the Steem blockchain I believe. At lower levels of SP, the vote range is restricted to a minimum percent based on how much SP you have. So while you're unable to vote with 5%, if you had double the SP you have now, you'd likely be able to.

As another example - with my SP, I can't vote 0.03%, but I can vote at 0.05%. If I doubled my SP I'd likely be able to.

There's a minimum amount of SP required mathematically for specific percentages - what those break points are, I don't know on hand.

Funny thing, though. I thought you might have fixed that already, because since I sent this issue to @chainbb-bug I have been able to vote at 5.6%.

Yes Correct, it is less then 500, it seems chainbb allow % even on less power but for steemit, the limit is 500 sp.

Then, it´s either a loophole, or a bug. A bug in the Steemit code, perhaps.

The 500 thing is just an artificial limitation built into the steemit.com UI. The blockchain allows you to vote much lower, so chainBB does too :)

How do I do that?

Interesting issue. This is one more thing to learn about steemit. I always vote 100% of my power, thereby using it faster, because I just don't want to bother with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78