Text prompt automatically going to the end of the comment/post, even when editing

in #chainbb-bug7 years ago (edited)

I'm not sure how to explain this so I'll start off with an example. Let's say i'm typing a comment that says "The cat ate the mouse". And now let's say that I wanted to add some detail, for example I wanted to specificy that the cat was big and black. I'd move the text prompt between "The" and "cat", and add in "big black". Expected result is "The big black cat ate the mouse". What happens sometimes however, is that the prompt automatically goes back to the end of the comment and part of what I wanted to add ("big black") gets written at the end of the message.
So for example the end result would be "The big bl cat ate the mouseack". Lots of my sentences make no sense when this happens since they get completely truncated, often in the middle of the words. The longer I'm editing, the higher chance there is of this happening. I usually go back a lot and this problem happens almost on every long post/comment I make (happened while typing this sentence for example). I've experienced this on firefox 54.0.1 and Chrome, OS is OS X 10.

I have no clear explanation of why this happens, but maybe it is linked to some kind of periodical process, such as auto-refreshing, or the saving of the draft that brings the prompt automatically to the end of the message.

Sort:  

We all know what you mean because you are not the onl to me as well. one.

See it happened again!!

hahaha I'm really glad you just left it like that. Anyone who's experienced it knows exactly what happened right there :)

It happens to me as well, and has been driving me crazy too.

I think it's the periodical check for account rewards (to populate the menu bar) and it's probably caused by how I wrote that code. While it's executing the editor hangs and then jumps to the end, bringing along some of the keystrokes with it, and sometimes erasing text that's been written.

It's on the top of my priorities to fix - hopefully this week. The last week I took a much needed break from coding, so I apologize for the late response!

No worries, glad you're on it! Thanks for your answer.

@anomiej I was about to post this bug when I saw your post beat me to it, and this is already on your @jesta massive todo list, Thanks

PS: @jesta could you add a forum sticky for the inappropriate flag issues?

Happens to me as well. Happens in opera specifically, I tested it out and doesn't seem to happen to me in chrome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89