A journey to CFD & Fortran - Part 1

in #cfd7 years ago

Hi every body. I am Ajand and this is my first steemit blog post. A little about me: I am a computer scientist and programmer who is studying Mechanical Engineering at IUST for no reason. I know It's ridiculous but I have no reason to get my mechanical engineering degree and I'm doing this because I am so much stupid. I write codes mainly in JS but I also use Java, C, C++, Go, Rust, Elixir, Julia and even python ( I hate snakes! ).

So what’s this journey about? This semester I have a class about Computational Fluid Dynamics. The “Computational” word is a lot tricky because this branch of science ( if we could name it science ) comes from the stone age ( about 1965! ) and computer in that time means a giant calculator. There wasn’t any deep neural network in that horror ages so computational means numerical ( check wikipedia if you don’t believe me ). So what is Fortran? In the stone age there was not so many programming language so first men decide to use Fortran programming language for their numerical analysis and since academies have no growth since that time I must use same language that first men used. There is no reason to use Fortran in 2017 ( maybe 2018, It’s 30 Dec ) and if you want to fight with me for this sentence spend a week with Julia in bed and then come to fight.

Btw I must use Fortran for my class project and in this series we learn a bit Fortran and a bit CFD and make a project done. ok?

First of all when I want learn a new language I go to http://tutorialspoint.com, It have nice quick tutorials about everything with more than 3 years old. so go and read this page https://www.tutorialspoint.com/fortran/ ( I wish you don’t expect me to copy paste this page ). Also read this page https://www.tutorialspoint.com/fortran/fortran_overview.htm ( trust me, there is nothing special in these pages ). And this page https://www.tutorialspoint.com/fortran/fortran_environment_setup.htm if you don’t use windows check this link: http://gcc.gnu.org/wiki/GFortranBinaries .

I think it’s enough for this post, If you setup your environment It’s cool. If you have any trouble ask me in comments I try to help you. See you in next post.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ihsotas, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that @originalworks will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58666.46
ETH 2281.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46