CEX.IO Experience. Don’t do it!

in #cexio7 years ago

This is a write up on the CEX.IO mobile App.
I downloaded this app in October, have been using it since. At first I liked the app because of the user friendliness and design intuitiveness. But after several months of use I’ve noticed several flaws. The one biggest one being that people from certain states (such as New York) cannot add a credit/debit card. This means you can’t add funds nor withdraw funds to and from the card. Luckily I already had BTC so I just transferred it to the CEX.IO wallet. The second issue is the transaction fees which are kind of high. About .001-.002 BTC or so per transaction. This commission goes to the company. Also you can only withdraw a minimum amount of crypto such as .01 BTC, so if you have anything under this it’s pretty much useless. This goes for all cryptocurrencies on the app. Now my biggest problem was the fact that I bought Ripple (XRP) and when I went to the withdrawal page there wasn’t an option to withdraw my ripple. When I went to my Ripple balance there is an option to withdraw but when I added my ripple address there is no option for a deposit tag, this could be a problem considering you can lose your ripple without it. Now when I tried to withdraw my ripple it gave me an error every single time. It told me to contact support. I contacted them (through email sigh) about my withdrawal problem and I got a computer automated response about account access. Had nothing to do with my problem. I had to sell my Ripple buy ethereum and even then it wouldn’t go through on the mobile app. I Had to go on my desktop and send it off from there. It went through but the amount of work it took was frustrating, not to mention I lost about 8 ripple just buying the Ethereum and sending it to my wallet on Binance. My last problem is that the market price on CEX.IO is always more than the actual price of Crypto. If BTC was 15k it’d be 17k or so on CEX.IO. Luckily this worked to my advantage as I bought Ripple at .26 cents and sold at 1.70. Now if it weren’t for all these problems I’d still be using the app. I still have some crypto on there but I can’t take it out because of all the minimums so if I ever wanted to take it out I’d have to put more into it which in my eyes isn’t worth it. I started using Binance, while there isn’t a mobile app, it’s much more user friendly and has more crypto to choose from and the prices are way closer and fees are less. Avoid this app like the plague. Put your crypto and money elsewhere. If they fix these problems I’ll come back but as for now ✌🏼 Sorry for the long write up 😂 hope this was helpful. Until next time!

Sort:  

Congratulations @rafgarc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Dear rafgarc,

Thank you for your post.

Unfortunately, due to legal reasons, we are not allowed to provide our service in several USA states including the state of New York. But we are constantly working on a license obtaining and recently got licensed to provide our services in the states of Michigan, Mississippi and Arizona.

We have increased the number of support team members by 300%. Compliance department (e.g., account access, identity verification) has grown by 400%. The financial support team dealing with the customers' funds issues (wires/transfers/cards) has tripled. Agents are working 24/7 365 for our users' convenience. Currently, the support average first reply time is 10 minutes and we start working on our replies improving.

We do not leave aside our mobile application as well. XRP and XLM deposits and withdrawals have been enabled in the mobile app. We know that this feature was in high demand and understand the inconvenience caused to our users by its void. For more information about our mobile app improvements please check the whole blog article: https://blog.cex.io/news/mobile-app-upd-17348

We hope you will try our updated app and service soon and share your feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43