Cervantes Magazine Number 24: Photography

in #cervantes6 years ago

When you want to transmit different captured elements in a shot to other viewers through an image, you have to take into account the personal point of view that you decide to adopt before capturing and sharing. I usually think about what is more suitable for the type of photography that I am going to do since, for example, using the camera horizontally or vertically are two different things, or where I am going to focus the center of interest of what I intend to reflect.



A very personal idea about photographic composition is that it is an art and the rules contained in it are very ambiguous and always depending on the point of view of the person who makes it, I also don’t believe that there are limitations that indicate one composition is better than another because it depends on what the photographer or the people who observe the photographic work want to understand. There are certain guides and general rules of composition that can be used to improve the photographic technique itself.



My experience in this field when I take a picture is to take into account some details before starting the work. First, and even before having the camera in hand, the subject assaults me, the reason for that image, the contrast and highlight, the light and the shadows. Pure observation of the environment and situation. If it is a scene that is proposed to me, I look for the depth of it, the distance, I fix my gaze on the farthest points that reach my sight to establish a space and a point of guidance. I also try to concentrate on the volume and the best option to quickly process the simplest way of doing the shot.



With the camera in hand and seeing through the visor I look for what attracts my senses to use it as the center of my image, as the main character or as a global composition. The texture and matter sensations that the image transmits to me begin to manifest, so I start playing with different angles and positions to find out what is the situation that I am interested in taking.



The tools we have for photography are usually included in five specific fields. Framing, location, focus, perspective and lighting.

For me, framing is the sum of the element that I want to photograph added to the situation in the photograph or the scene it represents. This is one of the points that give me more to play with, and where I have more fun since the situations are unlimited.

I usually use horizontal framing for landscapes in general, groups of people, for me it represents a certain situation of calm and quietness.



On the other hand, when objects are higher than wide, I require a little more force in the represented object, whether be portraits, certain subjects of nature and details, I then use vertical framing.

When I use an inclined plane or inclined frame I intend to reflect movement, action, dynamism or strength. There are also other methods or tricks that can be used and could be included in this section.

One of the most used techniques by photographers when making a shot is using the "rule of thirds", the points of greatest attention are produced between the imaginary lines resulting from dividing the images into equal parts by two horizontal lines and two vertical lines as a reference.



Realness and movement must be taken into account. They are very special cases of photographic and visual realism. The expressive look of human gestures, the view of the person must be respected and if it is to appear in a landscape, the subject must be located on one side to compensate the composition. When you are in motion you can intuit that the subject will describe a trajectory that must be respected by the frame, making the shot something realistic and causing our mind to fill in and complete the movement that is intended.



The most technical part of focusing, are the elements that are used to capture attention on what we want to highlight. By controlling the aperture of the diaphragm and the exposure time of the shutter, we produce more depth of focus and more selective approaches. This requires experimentation with the parameters of our camera, is a matter of practicing, many times, in my case, i’ve achieved what i want by trial and error.

I encourage you to put one of your photographic images in the comments of this post along with your permission to use them, some will be selected to participate in a special edition in which we will comment on your singular vision of photography. Thank you very much for collaborating in this great project.



Image © oscarps. All Rights Reserved.

Original content by @oscarps


[Return to Home page]


Sort:  

Nice post. Excellent content. Perfecto muchas felicidades por esta iniciativa.

Thank so much @margarita2032 , regards Margarita

photography good @oscarps, dazzling cervantes

Thank so much @abhbarry , greetings

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 8 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51