The Making of Large Garden Pots - Whichford Pottery, Warwickshire, UK - 대형 정원 냄비 만들기

in #ceramics7 years ago

Thanks for tuning in .... this is an excellent video !

This is a very interesting video showing, the whole process from start to finish.

A lot of skill in use here as these pots are thrown on the wheel !

  • Simon

We keep practicing !

www.whichfordpottery.com
www.simonleachpottery.com

Sort:  

Love it. ♥

Thank you ...carrying on practicing !

Wow!! That was incredible!! Thanks for sharing it Simon!! I really enjoyed seeing. I do have one question though, with the pots made with molds, why not just pour them using slip?

I think using molds would be a slower process as the clay slip that much wetter. By using this method and beating the clay into the mold it dries quicker..also they are thick pieces, which would not work with wet clay slip. Molds using slip are for thinner pieces if you understand me.

Yes I do understand you Simon. I have poured many, many molds. I had not taken into consideration the thickness of the clay they were working with. I have some old molds that I might try that with just to see how things work. Thanks for the explanation!!

Wonderful feeling working on the wheel enjoy

Yes it is, the wet smooth clay passing through one's hands and fingers.

Interesting! I finally found out why a rib is called rib. I still do not know why it is called 'lomer' in Dutch.

I suppose because a rib of an animal was once used ? ..is that why ?

Yes , that is what they say in the video.

I like toast 🍞

i like, thanks for sharing

We keep practicing ! - thanks for comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69380.97
ETH 3764.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86