Working with Virtual Machines...

in #centoslast year

One of my big discoveries in 2022 was virtual machines. I have read about them before and I have heard about them, but I have never used them. So it was very interesting as I started to use virtual machines and have fun with them in 2022. I believe that will just escalate further in 2023, because there is so much that you can do and learn while working with a virtual machine, and the big plus is that it is a protected environment, meaning that your mistakes will not really impact your computer.

I am a big fan of Ubuntu as an operating system and also Linux Mint, which is based on Ubuntu. I have tried some other operating systems as well, and recently, I installed CentOS on a Virtual Machine. Honestly, it wasn't love at first sight, but I guess it would help to install the version with a graphical interface. Why is that? If I like the graphical interface, it is easier to like it all. But, I had little disk space, so I only installed the version without an interface, and this was really clean, meaning that I didn't have many useful apps installed by default.

I wanted to do some text editing, but Nano wasn't installed, and neither was VIM. But, the VI editor was installed, and since I have to learn how to use VI editor properly, that was kind of an advantage. But, I also wanted to practice a bit using the VIM editor. The only problem was that my Internet connection didn't work on my CentOS VIrtual Machine. I had no clue why, at first, because when I have installed Ubuntu Server in the same way, the Internet connection always works from the first second.

What was the mistake?

For some reason, the network device was set to be disabled by default. As a result, I had to go to the settings file of the network device and enable it by default after booting. Then I just had to reset my network settings (or reboot the device), and suddenly my Internet connection returned.

That was it, and I had a great time doing so. Now I am working with other things in CentOS, and it is really useful. I guess I should try to install the graphical interface sometime, because it would be cool to look what the system itself is like.

That's it for today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94