The Censorship Is Real - My Internet Service Provider (ISP)

in #censorship2 years ago (edited)

I'm currently working on a new website, and I want to share what I've learned over the years of research and trial-n-error in order to become more self-sufficient and live off the land as much as possible.

Freedom of speech is an essential right that many people take for granted. It's easy to forget how important it is when there are no restrictions on what you can say or do.

However, this right has been challenged in recent years with the rise of censorship and other forms of suppression. Censorship isn't just about blocking out certain words-it's a way of controlling information and attempting to limit freedom of expression.

It's time we all recognized the threat censorship poses and took action to protect our free speech rights before they're taken away from us completely.

I was faced with censorship from my ISP, they blocked me from my own website. After spending six hours going through a checklist to make sure that was what happened, the conclusion was, yes they had blocked me.

Below are the steps I did to check and see if my website was blocked.


  • I attempted to access my website from three devices: a laptop, a desktop computer, and an iPad. I also tried accessing it on Microsoft Edge, Chrome, and Firefox after removing any addons from the browsers and clearing the caches, but it all failed.

  • So I disconnected my cellphone from the Wi-Fi so It wouldn't use my ISP and it worked, my website loaded.

  • There's another method you can try using Google translate. I used Spanish as the first language and pasted my URL, then selected English as the second and clicked translate, which resulted in my link being clickable, if my ISP had blocked access to the website it shouldn't load, well it didn't load.

  • I tried changing my DNS settings, but it didn't work. I contacted my ISP to find out the problem but as you may guess, I just got the runaround.

  • This site checks if a website is down for everyone or just you: down for everyone or just me Here is a screenshot of the result

downforme.PNG

So I ended up having to use a VPN with obfuscated to work on my own website. So as I found out the hard way we no longer have a First Amendment here in America. In today's political environment we should all be using a VPN.

This is the link to my website if you'd like to tell me what you think my ISP doesn't like about it - https://survivaltacticshq.com

But remember this is a new website and I don't have a lot on there. I will have a how-to section with many Gigabits of videos and information. If you would like to be notified of this new content just fill out the contact form with your email address and I will let you know when it is ready.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54