Bitcoin or Steemit aren’t foolproofsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #censorship5 years ago (edited)

Every once in a while I see people on heat complaining about “censorship” on YouTube or maybe how “PayPal” is evil and that platforms like #steemit or cryptocurrency like #bitcoin is the salvation.

These people are typically from western liberal democracies and are bitching that free speech doesn’t mean freedom of consequences.

Protests where free speech isn’t protected

Then protests breakout in places like Iran and we are reminded that Bitcoin and other decentralized platforms are poor replacements for true reform or decentralized power and telecommunications infrastructure.
2AC678F7D52C4D3282FA2D3F84034F64.jpeg

(https://twitter.com/sbetamc/status/1195781059444695042?s=21)

Until Elon Musk and Jeff Bezos get their satellite internet solutions, and home microgrid are easy and quick to deploy, all of this “disruptive” tech relies on liberal values and market conditions that keep our utilities going

What’s the alternative

I don’t know, but I would love to see more people thinking and promoting microgrids, mesh networks, etc.

Systems that can be deployed rapidly and discreetly within places like Iran, Syria, Lebanon, etc ...

Less complaining about censorship, more work to leverage this technology for everyone.

Sort:  

So you uh.. got that info from twitter? 🤔 Sweet, your source is the Walmart of the Internet.

I’m currently in Greece, working with Middle Eastern and Asian refugees, you’ll learn a lot more here, from them, than you will from an illuminated screen. That’s my opinion but, what do I know?? I’m the dumbest guy in this conversation. In fact... I’ve been suggesting my thumbs to stop talking right now but they won’t shut up—my bad.

But I don’t listen to twitter and, while they’re still typing, they wanted you to know they don’t believe anything out of elan musk‘S mouth—that bilderburgh meeting attendee guy. While I’m at it, NASA is fake too.

Just living up to that Western liberal thing you said, I guess.

Hi Dandays, thanks for replying.

I got my information from Netblocks.org. If you think that they are mistaken, you are closer to the location than I. I was talking to friends from Tehran yesterday after learning this and they confirmed that they couldn't get in touch with a couple cousins because they don't have landlines.

Re-reading your comment, I'm really not sure what you are saying or trying to communicate. There are a lot of things going on.

Maybe I wasn't clear in my original post, but what I was trying to say is that without decentralized power and telecom infrastructure we (the people) will always be beholden to state actors that can shutdown bitcoin in a location by the flip of a switch.

If there are any news sources you trust personally that you can point me to, please feel free to comment below.

Have a great evening in Greece, its a beautiful country with beautiful people.

Regards,
SL

Fair enough dude. I’m actually sofa king tired right now I could’ve read lisdexic you know what I mean and I’m relying on these thumbs to carry me through.

Eh, pleasure to be met @noloafing! 👍🏿 <— these ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33