A minnows plight ....what is happening to Steemit?

in #censorship8 years ago

Please correct me if I'm wrong but I was under the presumption that Steemit is: a platform where everyone gets paid for creating and curating content. Simple enough to understand.

For the past couple weeks as I have started my journey through Steemit I have come across a few posts pertaining to @steemsports and how people are, for the idea and some against.

Through all the articles that I've read it seems that those who are against it are being a bit hypocritical. Hear me out.... first and foremost this post is not bashing anyone who have posted their thoughts and feelings on the matter. As I read more I keep seeing a pattern from the "Naysayers".

censorship.jpg

It seems that in its early months Steemians were making a bit of SD with their posts. Steemit being a new concept... it rising in value on the trading floor and everyone was fairly happy. Then a steemian @cryptoiskey (I believe) created and cured content and it was called @steemsports.

Then a shift happened. Steem fell in value on the market. Steemians who had been making some good money from their posts started to make less. Steemsports started to thrive and continued to make money consistantly. Then the backlash came about how @steemsports is unfair.

SO let me see if I am correct in my thought process.... A platform is made with rules and regulations...everyone follows those rules and regulations...and then a steemian follows those rules and regulations and becomes very creative and makes himself some money...let's not forget that he also made posts that allowed everyone to see how he did it, just in case someone wanted to follow his example. Then other steemians stopped making money as they were use to.

In all the posts I hear bitching and whining about, "how unfair steemsports is and is making all the money" and "I'm not making as much since steemsports is posting" etc... REALLY?!?!

When I first started posting, I enoyed the free version of @steemsports and was rewarded for just picking a team I thought was going to win. I am not a gambler but this was very enjoyable. I also understood there was a paying portion to steemsports where you could pay SD and really gamble ( I never tried the latter.) I enjoyed making (however miniscule) SD and steem with the free version.

I awoke this morning and I see no tags about @steemsports whatsoever...has it been removed? Has it been taken down by the curator? I don't know what has happened but I feel that a form of censorship has been created.

Now I've not posted much and while I'm certainly no Mark Twain my last two posts each made a blistering 0.01 cent ...each. I know that one post was somewhat funny and I know my last post was not only informative but well written...in 2 languages.
It would be kinda silly of me to say, "well I made money on my first posts but hey I see this post called Open Mic about music. That music topic has been making steem & SD week after week.... well that's not fair... I mean people are just posting music and @luzcypher is making it unfair for me to make money and I don't like music anyway....

If steemsports has been taken down because of this mentality, this is CENSORSHIP and it is this type of thought process that will devalue Steemit and undermine everything that @ned and @dantheman have built and are currently building.
I see the "sports" TAG....but no steamsports tag...maybe I'm not using the Steemit site properly but I can't find it.
Regardless... if those who post are going to promote positivity through censorship... you will only promote negativity and thus create a cancerous entity on Steemit.

It's like playing a board game where you are winning and then someone comes along and becomes better at it than you.....then you scream, "you can't play the game anymore because your winning".

I'm just a steemian-minnow here but it's certain posts that scares me as I try to become a positive entity on Steemit. The promotion of censorship weakens a community... just saying.

Any and all replies are welcome... please check out my posts and upvote and resteem...that's how to generate positivity!

Sort:  
Loading...

It's very interesting post!!
Thank you for sharing dear @mithrilwees :))

Thanks dj...and it's mithrilweed ....check your auto correct spelling ...lol

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Well said and some great points. Makes you wonder after you have spent a long time creating a new post to receive nothing and someone just uploads a video and starts getting paid. Some seem to take the easy route

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81