You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @Drakos on censoship. Stupidity or Disingenuity?

in #censorship6 years ago (edited)

This is a great debate because it impacts each one of us. The online free speech debate can be compared to private property. I believe I can or should be allowed to do anything I want at my house. On my land. But maybe not in the public square. Social media, online, might be like a public square. If I have a website, maybe I own it. Maybe, I should have the right what is said on my website because it is part of my private property perhaps.

Is Facebook or Steemit like a public square or is each account like a private house with private property rights?

Steemit has free speech, which is one thing. The flagging (downvoting) does not remove posts & comments. Our posts & comments are stored in the blockchain of http://Steem.io but may be taken off http://Steemit.com if there are copyright claims that are sent to the Steemit.com company which @Ned said in a video is a USA company that has to follow USA laws. So, things may be taken off Steemit but not Steem unless if I am mistaken by those details. But there are applications that may come from other countries that may not hide some things.

Flagging is more a free market thing as Steem is mostly like an auction thing that goes up and down in the bidding. The debate on free speech and on the free market is still there but Steemit is still better than Facebook by so much.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking the time to share this prospective. I think the current architecture it's awesome and took some foresight to plan. I'm not wrong to think this is new concept of communication is new to all of human kind and will take more effort to keep it useful and necessary.

Example as I talk to friends and people I want to equip for the future. They ask why they would give money to someone for posting. They are initially confused that upvoting means they give some of their STEEM to the author. As I explain in more detail, proclaiming that they need to pay attention as this platform/network is not like other websites they have known at all. Most are still skeptical. They will come around as soon as it's necessary.

Hi @sdavignon, I was just going through all the comments here with interest & I am compelled to comment here- not exactly related but somewhat, maybe. I read somewhere that 65000 Steems are created everyday from thin air of which 50000 is put into the reward pool. I don't know how this is related to your post but I post here anyway.

Thank you, our information is very relevant to my post. I'm going to follow you and hope to interact in the future. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68596.26
ETH 2701.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72