You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Sister the SJW and our Eclipse Encounter

in #censorship7 years ago

Frankly speaking, you are better off with her out of your life. If she can't take facts and common sense, or have any reasonable discussion, then why should you waste your time on her?

I get the "family part", but is she is unwilling to accept you, then it is her decision. Do you need her? if not, then let her go. If she wants to talk to you, then let her speak, but do not accommodate her in any way that is necessary. Let her realize the mistake.

I care a lot more about common sense and nice, honest people, than about family, especially if said family members for all purposes have betrayed... well, both you, and humanity in general.

In fact I have a similar relationship with my cousin - a girl in her late 28's. Several years she moved to the multicultural paradise called MerkelLand, and it is more and more difficult to talk to her on any serious topics - she simply refuses to talk. While we are not completely distanced, I really don't bother trying to make sense into her. I am not responsible for her, and that's all. Perhaps, if I had the resources and an active interest, I would organize a sort of "shock therapy"... but I am afraid the Merkels favorite people will get there first.

Sort:  

I reckon you are correct. Scott Adams, the Dilbert cartoonist, has an interesting blog, although he's quite dedicated to the Trump presidency, and perhaps a mite smug. He advocates awaiting the proper moment, when cognitive dissonance renders fragile the cementitious amalgam of Orwellian doublethink, and proffering reason only then, when SJWs are most susceptible.

This makes quite a bit of sense, probably exactly what you mean by 'shock therapy'.

But, sadly, I am not prepared to hover about suffering until just the right moment. My sister is an adult, has responsibility for use of her own faculties, and will bear the consequences of her decisions, regardless of my concern.

I simply have a responsibility to myself to prevent my own debilitation through her, or anyone's, misguided conceit, self-delusion, and pandering to power. I'm no good at pandering anyway, as our falling out shows.

As intolerable as American SJWs are, I expect that Deutschland, having half a century of self-imposed shame and guilt driven into it's philosophical heart by merciless propaganda, is considerably less tolerable. I doubt I could live long outside of jail in a country where it is against the law to question history.

I'd do it just because it was illegal =p. Prolly that same impulse to rebel is what caused me to bring up the ADA, anyway. Every time I bit my tongue around my sister, my blood pressure made it just a little harder than the time before, and encouraged her to do it again just a little bit sooner.

I just couldn't do it. I suck at sucking up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63441.26
ETH 2477.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64