You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cemetery Photo's

in #cemeteryphotos5 years ago

A lovely tree lined walk to the cemetery , there is something amazing in the history of these very old cemeteries- even though the headstones might be worn and weathered it’s special that people from a long time past are still remembered.

I’m still working this out, so it might not work I’m not sure what the cool down period is. Will try anyway @tipu curate and if my bot is still working !COFFEEA 15

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thank you! I agree, there is so much history in the cemeteries. I always want to get to know a bit more about the people who are there. The farmers buried at this one, would not have had an easy life. Due to their crops getting flooded out too often.

I use to live nearby and certain areas of farm fields still get flooded out.

Cemeteries are always fascinating, especially the older ones. Makes me wonder what their lives were like, so long ago.

I always wonder the same. I was hoping to find out more details about this one but I think we were lucky to get what we did. Life could not have been easy on the early settlers.

@manorvillemike, @debralee, @melinda010100
i've recently was fascinated to know about the jewish 'matzevah's -- old tradition of decorating the entombments.
for example, you may read about it here
https://rohatynjewishheritage.org/en/culture/written-in-stone
and i found a few excellent stories in Russian,
https://rudy-ogon.livejournal.com/12687700.html

and a hard nut even for me to read:
https://www.diary.ru/~Grabschonheiten/p42612918.htm?oam
a huuuuge, extensive article about symbolic of tombs decoration
not sure if you wanna read it using a google-translator... unless you dig very deep. but at least one can get the impression of how much there's out there...

Thanks for the links! I will bookmark this to get back to it when real life slows down!

same with me. maybe one day I will make a post or two about it. very intresting educational stuff!

yes! yes! are you in the know of the old jewish tradition, about the symbolism of entombments decorations? I'd be happy to provide you a few links, but they all in Russian, you 'd have to use google to read it... or google the same sources in English, if it will hook you.

eh?

Thank, I can look up some information on the subject in English. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45