You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Donald: A Short Story

in #celfmagazine6 years ago (edited)

I thought this was a fantastic story @agmoore full of detail and apprehension. It had me hooked all the way through as I honestly thought it was going in a darker direction. Think hillbilly thriller, murder type thing lol

Then the ending was a poignant expression of sadness, when I'd geared myself up for a shock ending. For me, that made it even more impactful as I can usual see the end of a plot coming at least a few paragraphs before the story finishes. With this story I got it completely wrong lol

Also, your characterization - of the children particularly - was very good. Loved it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much, @raj808. You are a master story teller, so if you think I crafted a good piece, that is high praise. The grotesque elements gave me pause, then I remembered: wait, this really happened, so don't shrink from the truth. As I remember the day, it was tragic and in a way beautiful. I wanted to capture that when I wrote the story. Kind of the cycle of life, the swamp where all things will decay, was a kind of symbolic lesson for us, as children. And we accorded our pet respect as we went through the burial ceremony.
Maintaining emotional distance and making the experience relevant in a larger sense was the challenge. I'm glad I at least partly met that.
I appreciate your comment and support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39