Saturday Agriculture. How I got into poultry farming

Hello steemians,
Its another Saturday and I thank God for our lives. And as we all know, when we get the opportunicty to see Saturday like this, then it calls for another beautiful #Celestialchallenge called Saturday Agriculture which is initiated by @sirknight.

When I was wandering for what to post took me to a nearby poultry farm in my community. Infact I was so excited to meet the owner of the farm cos I wanted to know more about rearing of the poultry and indeed the farmer was awesome for his time given me for explanations and education.ice_2018-03-03-06-25-50-281.jpg

My first question was why it seems he has few poultry in stock because the cage seems to look empty. He giggled and revealed to me that there were many poultry in stock as in November. But it was because of the Christmas festive, that made people bought almost all of them.ice_2018-03-03-06-30-44-805.jpg

I asked him so when will he fill the cage again. He explained to me it will take four to six months to enable the hens reproduce the quantity he sold in December. The farmer continued to say that, if the hens get nutritious meal, one hen can lay 500 eggs per week. Due to that even if the chickens don't fetch him money, only the eggs do fetch him.

He based on that to further explained to me that, market goes on well during festive seasons like Christmas. He can make sales of GHC2000 only in Christmas. He told me.
ice_2018-03-03-06-28-01-208.jpg
I asked him of his challenges as a poultry farmer. He answered his biggest challenge is when the chickens suffer disease outbreak. Because when that happens, he could kill almost all the chickens to avoid future infections. So it drags him to zero. Otherwise the business moves on well.

Infact I learnt a lots about what goes into rearing of poultry and how you can be successful in the business. Honestly, the man has drove my mind of poultry business. I will soon follow suit cos aside the money its also serve as a source of entertainment.ice_2018-03-03-06-29-23-253.jpg

Until we meet again next week for another celestial challenge, cheerio and keep fit!

This is @zicodee from #teamghana

Sort:  

Its sweet to share..l wish you all the best in this contest @zicodee

I won't stop it. Thank you

Please read and write good comment instead of "nice"

Sure...newbie in town

do you have any problem?

These poultries look healthy. @zicodee.

Exactly bro

Agriculture the backbone of every nation thanks @zicodee for sharing

True but we don't take it serious

Wow...really love your urge to wanting to have knowledge about poultry farming....we must seek to pursue knowledge, cos that is the only way we can develop ourselves and also broaden our minds.

Thank you so much. We shouldn't always live in our comfort zone

Wooow this is a great initiative from...i hope u r going to be rewarded in no more time soon

I'm hoping so. Thank you so much

You got a 1.95% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @zicodee! Earn 90% daily earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale.

This post has received gratitude of 1.86% from @appreciator courtesy of @zicodee!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44