Daily Celestial Challenge - Saturday Agriculture: Harvesting Raspberries and Syrup Making

in #celestialchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Saturday Agriculture is back and I will be sharing a couple of pictures when I harvested raspberries from our old garden, which I miss doing so much.

With those raspberries, I learned how to make my own raspberry syrup from my husband's late gramdmother, which I am also gonna share the pictures of how to plus the recipe 😊

It is my contribution for Daily Celestial Challenge, initiated by @sirknight.

1512250996284.jpg

1512251151924.jpg

Syrup

  • 1 kg raspberries
  • 700-800 g sugar
  • 1/2 L water
  • 5 tablets of lemon substitute (citrompotlo) - citric acid
  • 1 tsp preservative

1512251290993.jpg

1512251544333.jpg

How to

  • wash raspberries and drain
  • mash raspberries, pour in water, and stir in citric acid
  • strain raspberry juice in cheesecloth and let it hang overnight to drip
  • the next day, add in sugar and preservative
  • pour syrup in sterilized bottles and store in the fridge

To serve is as easy as pouring a little syrup into your glass, add in chilled water or ice and water or chilled sparkling water

1512251570170.jpg

1512251593805.jpg

Now, that's how grandma taught us how to make her syrup. Later when I made my own, I started making a slight change as I wasn't and still am not feeling too comfy with the usage of preservative

For me, I mash enough raspberries to produce 1 L juice. Then I add 1 kg sugar and a little water, just enough to thin the juice a little, which then I add 1 tsp of citric acid (vitamin C) - optional, stir and let mixture rest for a couple of hours. Filter the juice using cheesecloth by hanging it to drip, overnight and then I store the syrup in the fridge until ready to use.

Tadaaaa😊

1512253883178.jpg

Camera used: Hewlett Packard HP Photosmart R607

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Omg they look sooo delicious and fresh ...raspberries are amazing...at winter wheb i have cold or just feel that i can get sick i drink tea with raspberry jam

Oh wow, never thought of it, mixing tea and jam, sounds delicious!

I usually mix jam in smoothie 😂

Looks great! I think it's raspberries that are @pixietrix's fav, it's one of them and I can't remember if we have any in our yard, there's a couple of berry bushes and they look the same to me when they start out but apparently they're not, good thing I'm not the gardener ;D

From the old garden, so you've moved since? Bit sad about moving away from the giant bushes? Do you have any in the current garden?

goatsig

Not at the current garden 😣 raspberry grows crazy, and annually they will return. It's so easy to grow them but they can grow amok 😂 always tempt to grow here but we are renting.

It's not easy to pull the bushes once they settled and grow strong.

Similar to blackberries then XD We used to go blackberrying in a national park along a stretch of river, they were choking the river though so I think Parks removed them as I don't remember seeing them on one of ur return visits (we drop in very infrequently to this place as it's a bit of a hike). A friend has got blackberries on his property that he doesn't want to get rid of because blackberries, but really has to keep on top of them XD

goatsig

I don't think we had blackberries, I can't remember. I do know we had strawberries, raspberries, gooseberries, and grapes. Loved it when harvest time 😁

Ini sirop ya,,, oh bikinnya begitu ya,,, neng hebat euyy.

Iya Kang. Kalau tinggal Di Kampung yah Gini, bikin sendiri 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77