The Mandarin Fish (Daily Celestial Challenge - Tuesday : Animal Kingdom)

in #celestialchallenge7 years ago (edited)

I have personally taken care of a mandarin fish for about an year after my cousin adopted it. I rescued it from a petshop. Its scales were damaged and it had lost its color. I was quite angered at the shop owner selling it. About 90% of fish sellers dont know how to keep proper care of fish. As I am a fish expert myself I took that guy (he was a male) into my care. Within 3 weeks it got ita color back. The first week was the hardest. Due to ammonia poisoning it had difficulties in swimming and I was so worried that there I didnt sleep at all during the first 2 or 3 nights.

A Male Mandarin:

mandarin-1110408.jpg

mandarinfish-2336895.jpg

mandarin-1110396.jpg

But, believe me that guy was a fighter. Mandarin fish are salt water fish and they require 30 gallon tank for one fish. About an year or more later my cousin had brought a 70 L tank and asked me about what fish he should keep. I gave him the advice to buy a female mandari and adopt my male one too. Mandarin are really expensive so my cousin was quite happy and thanked me a lot. Apart from this I had to empty my 30 Gallon tank so that I can save more fish from pet stores. My cousin has kept them since. They didnt have babies still but I hope they will have some in the next years.

A Female Mandarin:

mandarin-fish-599248.jpg

Note : These pictures aren't mine. This story dates back to 2014 and I was not much of a photographer back then. Thanks to pixabay for providing the photographs.

If you want to ask any questions regarding your pet fish, I am here to help you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50