Our Durga Mata

in #celebration6 years ago

We Indians are true examples of 'unity in diversity'. We celebrate every festival, but in our own way. The country is immensely populated with people from different religions and castes that have their own regional touch. I am from southern India and there is no way that you can take out the southernness from me.

I am a Mangalorean by heart and there are some things that I guess no other city in India can offer me. I have habited in Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore because of my husband's work, but nothing is as best as Mangalore.

One among the other things that makes Mangalore what it is, is it's Dasara festival. Known across the country as Navratri and Durga Pooja, we Mangalorean call it 'Dasara Festival' and celebrate it with much pomp and show.

I have to visit Bangalore every year during this time to complete the ritual of my father in law's death anniversary, but I make sure that I be in Mangalore during 'dashami' because that's when you get to see what celebration is.

Here are few pictures of Mangalorean Durga Mata, but she looks a bit extra beautiful on the final day. I will surely keep you posted with her pictures on that day with her hairs covered in Jasmine.
Screenshot_2018-10-15-18-26-12-117_com.whatsapp.png
Screenshot_2018-10-15-18-25-52-435_com.whatsapp.png
Screenshot_2018-10-15-18-25-25-525_com.whatsapp.png

Sort:  

🙏🙏🙏🙏

Best wishes for ur puja

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71