How A Neighbor Celebrated His Mother's Death

in #celebration7 years ago (edited)

I walked back home today feeling really tired because it has really been a stressful and frustrating day. I tried to gather strength to just get myself into the room, all that was on my mind was where the strength will come from as I needed to take a cool bath and sleep.

As I approached my house, I began to hear sounds of trumpet and drums, it was a rather strange rhythm, I got close and I saw woman in group frying, cooking and doing other things, only then did I remember that an old woman living in the back of my room had passed away last week and today was going to be the burial ceremony.

The ceremony had started and I noticed that a coffin was brought out of the old woman's room, it was carried by a group of young men known as undertakers, who lifted it on their shoulders and they were followed by some people who were playing the saxophone and hitting the drum, the display lasted for a while as the people around there were greatly entertained as the undertakers danced around with the coffin which contained the dead woman gently placed on their shoulder.

After the dance process, I realized that the undertakers began to move towards the street and people followed behind as they danced to the song raised by the guy who played the saxophone.

The undertakers at this point began to display different styles as they lifted it up together with one shoulder and danced round in circles, the children and grandchildren of the deceased will then gathered round the coffin and they began to spray money on the coffin as they happily danced around, this shows that they are grateful that the deceased lived a life well spent.

I was told that after the whole ceremony, they will go and dig a pit of 6feet where the deceased will be properly buried and covered, after then there will be an after party where there will be lots of drinks and food, there is usually an artist who will as well perform and the whole moment will be filled with celebration.

Thanks for taking out of your precious time to read my post.It's your Nigerian girl @oluwatobiloba.
Image Source 1
Image Source 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80