Hi Muslims in Steemit, Happy Eid!

in #celebration8 years ago (edited)


I am celebrating it in my hometown, Penang, Malaysia. Here is where I grew up and my parents are living here. What was your most memorable Eid moments?
Eid was much awesomer as a kid, but now at 32years old, the fun is less. Well, it's part of growing up. As a kid, I only needed to get up, shower, eat lots of food prepared by my mom and aunts, watched special cartoons on TV, followed by circus shows. Haha, all the exclusives the TV network provided on this special day. After all that, my cousins and i will then go out around the neighborhood, knocking from door to door, greeting Assalamualaikum ( peace be upon you) and then each house will then give us 10 to 50 cents. This is Akin to Halloween where you go treat and treating and get candies. Difference is, during Eid, the kids get money!
![kids] ()

Now at 32, still single, Eid is much different. You get up way earlier, shower, put on nice clothes, helped the other elders with the food, have something light, then starting with parents, you go and seek for forgiveness with family members. After that, go to the mosque to perform the Eiddulfitr special prayers. Come back home, chill with everyone, eat more, and then attend to kids that come knocking at the doors and hand out 10 cents to 50 cents coins. This year I had set aside myr50 change just for the kids! When will be the day I can give bitcoins instead. I think the day will be soon. Kids will come knocking and use an app to connect to your phone to retrieve a few btc hehe.

After this, my mom and I will be going to the cemetery to visit relatives that had passed on and then proceed to other family and friend's houses.

Wonderful day indeed! Happy Eid!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84