Celebrating my Father - His Favorite Father's Day Card of All Time

in #celebrating-fathers6 years ago (edited)

This is for entry in @hurlamideh's poetry contest to celebrate our dads. I love this idea, and I love the story @hurlamideh has behind this idea, as I recently posted something about my dad in Getting to Know Your Parents as Friends - (An Interview with my Dad), for the very reason of trying to celebrate our parents while we still have them around.

This most likely won't be the typical entry, but I'd like to share a little card I wrote him for Father's Day when I was fresh out of college. (It's beyond silly - don't worry, I don't consider this Shakespeare).

The card was written on a yellow ruled paper pad that we kept in the kitchen for grocery lists and other notes, and was left with a bag of Sunflower Seeds as a present (his favorite thing to do is lay on the couch and watch ridiculous political tv, smoke, and eat sunflower seeds). 😅

Here is an actual copy of the poem, just as is, left on the kitchen counter:

dad poem.PNG

The transcript (in case you can't read my 12-yr-old boy handwriting lol) reads:

I would buy you a card
If I wasn't so broke
Isn't it a shame
This country's a joke.
I hope you have a good day
Watching Fox News
Enjoying your seeds and cigs
While mom enjoys the booze.

I love you :)
~ KT

My dad said he thinks Hallmark would sell millions.

Sort:  

i love seeing this. you seem to have such a sweet and openly honest relationship with your parents - at least from what youve shared on the posts about your dad <3

Thank you :)
You have quite a few more broken links in your recent post. Might wanna start actually testing all linkage after posting

i dont understand bc i literally copied every single one from the browser -.-

when i type it in it works

lol you have xn--http-996a// preceding the www. and /" at the end of the link (all the Instagram ones)

Congratulations @pragmaticpassion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79