Welcome Back Metro Ayala Cebu!

in #cebu6 years ago

On Tuesday, I went to the office for work, that's the only day in a week where I have to be at the office for some meetings. I was surprised when my colleagues informed me that Metro Ayala's grocery section is back! I was as well astonished to know that and glad that I can finally buy groceries again.

It was January this year when a fire hit the third floor of the Metro Gaisano area of Ayala Mall. It took a couple of days before the fire was stopped, eventually leaving this part of the mall barren. Ayala had to close down for a few days but resumed business after the mall was cleaned up.

It's been four months since the incident, last April 13th, Metro Gaisano's grocery area is back! I went after my shift to check how it looks now.

20180417_194935.jpg

The newly opened grocery store is now located on the opposite side of the old ground floor entrance. It is obviously smaller than the previous store, boy, it's just hard to get through especially if you have a cart! I still bought my usual vegetable salad ingredients and even took photos of the very narrow Metro Ayala Grocery store.

20180417_195115.jpg

I was glad to find this area where the walkway was not crowded, I remember the old store, it has wide gaps between the array of items.

I went to check the prices of my favorite goods, our office is just next to Ayala Center Cebu so whenever I need something before, I would just run to Metro Ayala.

20180417_195334.jpg

I checked the strawberries and the price can break a leg! I just passed by it.

20180417_195519.jpg

My favorite cherry tomatoes were a little affordable that day at Php 35+ while before it would cost almost a hundred peso per pack!

20180417_195959.jpg

Of course the usual tropical fruits. Does anyone here like Durian? That's the spiky fruit in the photo above.

20180417_200010.jpg

Another favorite is avocados but I just hate that they sell it in this - green and unripe. It will take days for me to monitor it and usually I won't be able to get it in the best shape. Sometimes, I would open it and it looks perfect but most of the time either it is already bad or it is not ripe enough.

I still bought some pieces though.

20180417_200401.jpg

The line to the cashier was a little long but everyone was patient enough, sometimes I really want to bring a senior citizen when going to the groceries because they have priority lanes.

20180417_200720.jpg

That's my basket! I was almost tempted to buy mangoes because that's my comfort food but when I checked the price, it was at Php 240 per kilo, I backed off! The most expensive item in that basket was the bananas!

Again, welcome back Metro!



Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please like @teardrops on Facebook and Twitter:

https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens/
https://twitter.com/teardropstokens

Sort:  

240 a kilo for mangoes? Tama ka. That's a bit expensive. Here in Davao 120 per is max. You said bananas was the most expensive. How much did it cost? Gaisano Mall in Davao sells it at 57 a kilo last time I looked. Of course durian is one of my fave. It is not yet in season so it's selling for over 250 a kilo. But in the wet market you can get it for only 120.

I've been to Cebu maybe 3 times and I think it's a great place. I prefer it over Manila. My daughter Noelle loves Cebu too.

thanks for visiting sir! the lakatan was priced at 70php per kilo.that bunch costs a total of Php 112.
i tried durian in davao last year, freshly opened and it was not smelly at all and it taste really good. we bought it infront of the chinese area there

Ah okay. That area is near one of the parks in Davao, the Magsaysay Park. I don't know how they do it but durian there is 24/7 all year round, season or not. You can also buy frozen packs there. They will even provide you with styrofor containers if you are taking the plane.

yeah, i have a colleague who is from davao and time to time he'll bring us durians in a huge box.

@junebride how are you today? I just Upvote your post I will read it later and give my comment, because I just received notification on your post and I am so tired. I need to take some rest. Stay shining dear.

ok dear.thanks for passing by. i am good. hope you are good too..

Good, but stressful am so week the stress is to much for me in the office but I will be fine. How is you darling husband? My regards to him

That expensive?! Unbelievable. We had two sacks of mango brought home by my brother. It's going to be a mango treat for the rest of the few months haha! It's discouraging if you buy fruits and veggies from the supermarket.

wow.. i am jealous now sir!huhuhu

Yay! Atleast there were able to provide a new grocery after the fire. Super mahal ng strawberries!

super po kamahal!

Namiss ko tuloy bigla Baguio strawberries hahaha

Our own proverb here says,
"every dark cloud has a silver lining" sorry for the lost metro supermarket. But now the Metro place is amazing, the front side is beautiful.
Haha.... @junebride make sure you send me my own fruit. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83