C stands for... cinnamon

in #ccc2 years ago

I love cinnamon and if I smell cinnamon I think of apple pie.
Warm, homemade appelpie. Not the one sold at the bakery shop. I'm not fond of apple pie with hard pieces of apple and some kind of 'juice' in between it, it's tasteless.
My grandmother gave me her old stove, an ATAG. With it came a baking book.

"It's even older than me," I said to my daughter. I used it a lot and it's no longer in such a great condition. Not due to my grandmother but because of me. The booklet is from 1959 and a million are published at that moment. The very first one was published in 1951 about six years after the second world war. It's hard to believe life was picked up, people could buy a stove and even received a baking book for free only a few years later.

I still use the old recipes because I think they are the best. Many modern recipes no longer use basic ingredients and that annoys me. I don't buy baking mixes, sachets, packs and ready-made stuff to bake something. I don't like that, but I also think it's way too expensive. The last baking mix I used was a fiasco. The cake even smelled chemical. I also don't have a convection oven, not even a thermostat. If I want to look inside my oven and leave the oven door closed, I have to use a flashlight. Not everything I bake is perfect, but at least it's not chemical junk and you can taste it. Homemade with basic ingredients tastes completely different from what you prepare with a package or buy in the shop.
I started baking again. Bread, even if I can't eat it, for the children. Perhaps once or twice a week I don't know yet. It all depends on the time I have and the temperature (outside or inside). The warmer it is the easier it is for my dough to rise.

food-g6c583a882_1920.jpgsourceNo common treat with us but we do have great 'kaneel beschuitjes' (cinnamon biscuits) which I love to eat.

See @team-ccc for the contest C stands for... and if you are into poetry have a look at @felixgarciap his Lyric and poetry contest and share your poem or lyric about 'cinnamon' with the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86