THE WHITE DAHLIA IN MY GARDEN

in #ccc5 years ago

Hey guys!

Today I would like to share something about my Dahlias because it´s my first time to have them in my garden. I have once tried to get their bulbs or shall I say its rootcrops or onions. My first trial at planting was a disaster and I thought that my hands were not good enough for them. There is no secret in growing Dahlias, ther right tip would be the soil to be used as well the feed. They tend to like acidic soil as far as I reckon.

a.jpg

I have respect for all the gardeners that were able to grow them lavishly. I love their huge flowers, particularly those giant blooms I have seen in Vienna´s Botanical Garden that looked so perfect and with those beautiful petals so perfectly shaped.

d.jpg

Giving It A Try

Last Spring, I decided I would like to give it a try once more. So I bought 2 packs of white dahlias and some soils that is meant for azaleas and rhododendrons, mixed it with some coconut saw dust that can be bought compressed and when mixed with water would fully expand. The soil had been pre-fertilized so there was no need to give feed in the next watering weeks.

c.jpg

After about three weeks, when the temps were warmer, it started to thrive and the first sign of green that popped- up meant a celebration for my green thumbs, I thought... lololol!

,

e.jpg

I was not lucky I thought.... because when the plants started to show some buds, I was about to fly for a visit to my family, relatives in friends in Manila. I knew I would miss the first blooms. At any rate, they started blooming when I was away. But then surprise came because there were more flowers when I came back.

1.jpg

Then I didn´t realize that its stems were so huge and big, and the flowers are also huge off white with green- yellowish color in the middle of the bloom. Even the back of the flower is also perfect and nicely shaped. I love those green parts that hold all the petals of the flower. The white dahlia has a continuous process of producing buds as if it´s not ending.

b.jpg

Next Season´s Plan

My plan for the next season is to get more of these flowers in different colors. Since I have the know-how already on how they like to be grown, well it´ll gonna be a colorful backyard, small but beautiful....promise!

3.jpg

I hope you like my contribution for today.....Wishing everyone a pleasant Thursday evening!

icon.gif

Banner by @gremayo

Sort:  

Wow Gorgeous flower , how i wish i can plant that flower too😊 looking forward for that beautiful colorful backyard soon 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66