Happy Caturday! This poor, dumped Mama is getting 'fixed' on Monday!

in #caturday6 years ago (edited)

Update: We have the cat home now and she is recovering from surgery. She's still loopy and disoriented, but doing alright. ♥

We live in a rural area. For some reason, people think it is okay to dump dogs and cats back here!

This tiny girl showed up a couple months ago, and she was very, very round. This cat, who was really too young to be safely pregnant, was super skinny, but looked like she swallowed a cantaloupe! The kids dubbed her 'Sooty', since she looks like she rubbed her nose in ashes. She is a total sweetheart and a wicked hunter! Naturally, we fed her and cared for her. Pretty soon she had 5 beautiful little kittens!

She is welcome to stay here as a barn cat. She is a wonderful hunter and will do her job well. She is super sweet and tolerant with the kids. We are NOT, however, going to start a cat farm! She has an appointment on Monday to get spayed, and will be able to live here and have a lovely life, NOT as a kitten factory.

As far as her babies go, well, we will have to try and find homes for them. They are nearly old enough to leave their mother, so I supposed I should start advertising... They are just so darned cute though!


Have a lovely Caturday, everyone! I hope you all have a fabulous weekend!


page-break-1024x256.png

Whatever you do, do NOT go and dump your pets please! Rehome, take to the humane society, whatever you can do!


I see so many lost pets out here in the country. Sometimes they are lucky, like this girl. However, most of the time, they end up starving, malnourished, diseased, and either die from this, get hit by a car, or shot by a farmer protecting his livestock. When you dump a pet, you are condemning it to a miserable life.


page-break-1024x256.png

Badge comp.png

Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

What a sweet kitty. So good of you to take her in. I'm sure your kids are totally attached to the new kittens now...won't be easy to rehome them. It is neat that you have the the space for them. We love our cats....the last set we had lived 22 and 23 years! (it's the easy life) :)

Thanks! ♥
Yes, the kids are in love, so we may need to keep one or two of them... Not all though! We already have 2 inside cats and 2 outside cats, not counting the mama and babies.
You must be taking excellent care of you kitties for them to get that old! Good job!

AWWWW! Too bad they don't stay that way. They grow up to be cats! What an awesome person taking in this Mamma cat like this. Hope you find a good home for the babies.

Thank you!
Yes, wouldnt it be great if there was a tiny kind of cat that stayed kitten-like?! Super cute!

They do look adorable! The kids must be having lots of fun playing with them ;0)

Yes, they love them and play with them every day! ♥

Happy Caturday to you! You've done a kind thing, taking her in and arranging having her "fixed." It breaks my heart how people can just decide to dump animals because they become "too much hassle" or they become pregnant.

=^..^=

Thanks for your kind comment! Yes, it is sad and quite frustrating... And I am sure this will not be the last time it happens.

That's what happened to me twice. Now I have two mommies and 6 of their kids. Find homes fast. :-)

Im going to try! These kids are in love though, and play with them every day... so one or two may end up staying....
Oh well, worse things could happen. ;)

You won't regret keeping two. They will bring great joy to your home. :-)

So, so true... :D
Cats are such fun critters. ♥

I am a sucker for cats. I'd have 10 or 12 if I had the room, but 2 or 3 is plenty. Right now we have three, two of which are former strays we took in. They are often the best cats ever!

I thoroughly enjoy having cats! If it were up to me, we would probably have a houseful by now! My husband keeps that in check though. We have 2 indoor kitties, and two outside, not counting the mama and babies. Mama is going to stay, so that makes three, and Im pretty sure one or two babies will end up staying too...

We you guys did a really awesome job @squishysquid for saving this left behind cat. She does look like a cutie.

Unfortunately for the place I can afford at the moment will not accept pets; and the state I am staying are no pets allowed in high rise .

I hope one day the management at my place will have a different decision later, so right now I can only learn to treat the plants instead of living animals as my companion.

I used to have a house cat called Mimi who's best friend was my house dog Lily . Unfortunately while she was pregnant she was poisoned (we suspected the neighbour) as spaying was not common in my hometown.

My current family dog who's already 10 years old would probably be the last family dog we have until I could afford somewhere landed. Until then, with the hectic life I have I guess no pets is also a good thing.

upvoted

Thanks for your kind comment!
yes, I understand some places do not allow pets, and that is sad, but understandable. And if your lifestyle is very busy, sometimes having a pet just isnt the smart thing to do.

So sorry to hear about your dog Lily! What an awful thing for someone to do to her!

Eeeeek they are just too stinkin' cute!!! But yes to not becoming a cat farm 😂 these little babies make babies like donuts lol! Xx

Yes, they multiply like crazy! I already have loads of animals here, do not need a zillion cats! (Although they are fun and adorable!) ♥

You have a big heart. And yes, they are so cute :)

Aww thanks! ♥♥

Oh that so cute! Thank you for taking care of the Mummy cat. So nice of your children adoring them. Lovely!

Thank you and blessings!

Thank you so much!! ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 60616.50
ETH 2911.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46