Normal Routine Can Be A Good Shield

in #caturday6 years ago (edited)

There are parts of my life that are unpredictable, chaotic and downright frustrating. During those times, about all I can do is hold on tight and hope to hell I don’t get so worn down that I let go of the tether.

It’s during those times I really appreciate the role my two felines play in my life. Cats are creatures of routine. They are happiest when they can experience their routine. I find that being present for that routine to happen helps me to remember the better times during the rough times

This seems to be the part of the daily routine these two love the most. The need to feed these two is a big part of what gets me out of bed in the morning. After they are fed, they make their way to where I am. Sitting on the couch at my computer. They seem to have an agreement between them how this is going to happen.

Fawnya (the fawnish coloured tabby) makes his way over first and lays across my lap to be petted and played with while Dawn (the long-haired imp)patrols the house and checks the windowsills to see what is happening outside. She then comes over and hops up to lay in my lap. At that point, Fawnya shifts and curls up beside me.

I have two choices at that point, give her my total attention or just type around her as she settles into sleeping cuddled against me. I usually opt for a bit of both. I enjoy their presence reminding me there is a normal flow to life, even when it isn’t.

Since I have committed the sin of disturbing them so I can get coffee, put my brunch on to cook and start some laundry, these two are currently encamped nearby in protest.

I am grateful for their tethering effect.


steemit ramble

Until Next Time — Just Steem on

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

Sort:  

@shadowspub
I really enjoy routine. It keeps me sane. 😂
Thanks for sharing 😊 I actually found you on Discord. Looking forward to reading more of your posts ❤️
@jeejee

thank you @jeejee .. nice to meet you and hope to see you soon :)

Wish I wasn't allergic to cats. It's only mild but just enough to mess up my singing LOL. The things that tether...a good thought.

i'm thankful I'm not allergic .. they like to get pretty close

🤣 our cat is unique.... she brings good medicine.

Our previous cat was amazing how he held space for us and would appear to sit and meditate with us when we did.

Totally get your sentiment!!

they can be amazing how they respond to the environment they are in.

Those are the most precious pure kitten souls I’ve seen in FOREVER. 🖤🖤🖤🖤

why thank you @katrah ... I'm sure it is the rough life they lead in my house :)

bwahahahahahahaaaaaaa... RUFF!
This comes to mind, although an invader such as this, CHAOS! LOL!!!

Thank you for using the family tag! This post was chosen to be featured in the latest issue of 'Notes'. Do stop in and see what some of your other allies are up to & keep Steeming on! #thealliance pagebreak.png

I've been known to show up occasionally when that brat pathtosuccess isn't getting in my way. Thank you for the feature.

Happy 🐈 urday! I agree, I’d be lost without our kitty Odin.

thank you @redwellies ... a fur friends really become special. Unconditional buds

Sure can, but if a killer wants a to whack you it's the routine that he analyzes to do the deed :P+
Cheers

are you suggesting one of my cats may be plotting? You mean when they lay looking at me, they are really analyzing? hmmm

Oh yes.... remember pinky and the brain? Those were rats! Now imagine what cats are capable of!

well i do have a bit of leverage. They like to get fed and I'm the only human feeding them

Oh yes. It's amazing the power that cats have to smooth over the low spots in life. My two kitties offer an extra dimension in life you can't really get from anything else. Calming, distracting, funny, and relaxing. Perfect for a Saturday morning :)

or any morning. When I was in hospital in June I really missed that routine in the morning.

It's amazing you have your two felines to help you with routine. They help a friend of mine with ADHD a lot as well. Another friend in burn-out/mourning... Also.

Sometimes I think I need one or two myself. I could use some routine in my life which can be a challenge once you stop working in an office :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71