Caring for cats with feline herpes

in #caturday6 years ago

The word herpes usually makes us think of cold sores or chicken pox and shingles but the family of herpes viruses is large and the strain of herpes virus that cats get is commonly called snuffles and causes flu-symptoms in cats. It often attacks the eyes as well, causing ulceration and blindness if not treated.

The worst part about herpes viruses is that they remain dormant in the body and reactivate during times of stress. Just as people who have flu can have an outbreak of cold sores at the same time, cats can have a herpes outbreak if they are rehomed or otherwise under stress. Cats are usually vaccinated against herpes as kittens and most cats have been exposed to the virus but an unfortunate few can suffer from regular outbreaks. The other problem with herpes is that it causes scarring of the nasal passages and tear ducts, leaving a cat with permanently runny eyes and chronic sinus infections.

In the past cats were mostly treated with lysine to help them keep the virus at low levels but this has been largely discredited as a treatment and more recently, a human antiviral that treats human herpes viruses is being used to help a cat fight off the virus more easily. Cats also tend to need antibiotics to fight off secondary bacterial infections that attack the airways and sinuses.

When my mother's cat Tom was rehomed to me, he got a fever and refused to eat a few days after he arrived. Initially, my vet gave him a cortisone shot to reduce swelling but cortisone makes herpes outbreaks worse because it suppresses the immune system. Tom proceeded to get so sick, I thought he would die. He had a runny nose and eyes and because he couldn't smell anything, he refused all food and had to be syringe fed. He also got mouth ulcers, a less common symptom, so he was really in pain. He had to have two courses of antibiotics and finally, after about two weeks, the worst was over and he started eating on his own again.

tom.jpg

His blocked nose persisted for months afterwards and I had to run a humidifier at night to help him to breathe. Eventually, he was breathing better but his sinus infections persisted and he only improved after I had most of his teeth removed because he also had gingivitis and his infected teeth and gums were reinfecting his sinuses. Every time I put him on a course of antibiotics, he would clear up, but then the snot would reappear within a few weeks. After teeth extraction, he was a different cat and his nose cleared up completely.

When I bought my house and moved again, I was really worried that he would have another outbreak of the herpes virus but mercifully, he hasn't.

Cats that have chronic herpes can be kept with cats that don't show symptoms, it is only an unfortunate few that are susceptible to chronic bouts of illness but this is a severe virus in kittens, it is important that kittens are kept away from sick cats until they have been vaccinated. This virus is not capable of infecting humans

Sort:  

Poor Tom. He had to have all the teeth removed or he has some left?
He is such a cute kitty with dirty paws :)

Yes he is, he just loves getting dirty and rolling around in the sand!
He has no chewing teeth left, the only ones he has are his lower canine teeth and his lower and upper incisors (the tiny little front teeth). It doesn't bother him, he still eats kibble, he was swallowing it whole before I took them out so he doesn't miss them, or the pain that he was in

Oh good! More important that there is no more pain. :)

Poor Tom, he looks so cute in that picture. I'm glad he is better now. I can sympathise a little, I am prone to outbreak's of cold sores when I am run down, and no, lysine doesn't work for me either. I even had a cold sore on my eye once, at the time I didn't know this was even possible, and it took the doctors ages to find out. Now I have a scar on my eye.

Herpes is nasty stuff. Have you tried antivirals on it?

Yes, but I find when my immunity is low from stress or whatever, nothing seems to work. I just need to keep my immunity up, eat well and avoid stress. Although avoiding stress is just about impossible.😕

For sure. That's when you need something like Zovirax

My cat :)

655.jpg

Beautiful!

Love this post about cat herpes. You are so good to your Mom’s cat Tom. He is a little cat. No wonder you were concerned about him. He looks good now, that he has learned to adjust to you and his new home. 🐓🐓

Thank you. He is a tiny little cat and such a weirdo

Oh! It's a pity Tom ...
I wish him health!
Tom is happy, because he has you!
And if he was homeless, how much would he survive ...

He wouldn't survive. He once disappeared for 5 days and I was frantic

I understand

The power of TLC. Glad Tom didn't have another outbreak during the move.

Believe me, so am I

How good that you care about cats. Without your help they would perish. I'm glad that your cat has recovered.

Thank you

it is something very serious, poor Tom, thank goodness, that did not give him another outbreak.

You are a special woman to look after him, a lot wouldent. now he knows what its like to be loved.

My mother loved him a lot. I think that he now knows what it's like to be prodded and poked, poor bugger. He goes ballistic nowadays if anyone tries to take his temperature via thermometer up the bum so we don't try that any more

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote. Be sure to share the news of @theluvbug with your blogging buddies - and remember to keep a look out for our daily posts where you can share your links for upvotes and resteems :)

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89