🐈Happy Caturday! A portrait of a small but mighty cat. 🐱steemCreated with Sketch.

in #caturday7 years ago (edited)

Happy Caturday Steemians! This is a Pastel drawing I did of a small cat called Muffin that we once had the pleasure of sharing our lives with.

She was a very courageous tiny cat. As a kitten, she became very ill with cat flu and it was touch and go as to whether she would survive. But survive she did. However, her growth became stunted and she remained for the rest of her life the small size of a kitten.

When I had a small-holding, I had also ducks, chickens and geese.....for a while I had problems with a mink that claimed the lives of several chickens and ducks. One morning I heard a lot of noise in the chicken enclosure. I ran out to see what was wrong......and there I saw brave little Muffin battling with the rogue mink. She managed to wound it and chase it off. For a cat to take on a mink is beyond courageous....minks are lethal.

Not one of the bigger cats came to help. No, they hid. Although the mink did bite Muffin to the bone on one leg, I took her to the vets and she survived. I was so proud of my tiny little cat.

DSC_0092-01.jpeg

The work is 100% author's own.

image-0-02-04-71b7b1e40e5b295f169bf816a2c6953e2a3e84bcb90c76be8fa96863180a0ee9-V-02-01.jpeg

Sort:  

Thank you. She takes pride of place on my wall.

Beautiful art, and heart warming story of a courageous little cat!

Thank you. She was one of a kind, an exceptional little character with a big heart.

Aw, she is no longer with you either? So sorry! You have your beautiful memories, though!

I no longer have any cats, only dogs now. But I have so many memories, and all my animal friends throughout the years are still very much alive there. 😊

I know how that goes. We no longer have dogs. My son is living with us just now, and he has 2 beautiful Siamese cats, so we are not starved of kitty affection at the moment.

A cat's appetite is the barometer of its health. Any cat that does not eat or drink for more than two days should be taken to a vet.

A cat's hearing is much more sensitive than humans and dogs.

Cats are now Britain's favourite pet: there are 7.7 million cats as opposed to 6.6 million dogs.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.11 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 6.67 % upvote from @sleeplesswhale thanks to: @steem-buzz.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.57
ETH 2658.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51