Late Caturday Night

in #caturday7 years ago (edited)
First, thanks, @samstonehill and Princey for the joyous news of #Caturday!
His name is Johnny Danger.






He went to Glamour Shots, and no one told him his whisker was bent.






But a cat doesn't worry, when his very name spells DOOM to the Underworld!


Johnny Danger’s name popped in my head a couple weeks after I got him, and was perfect; I love that. There was a movie around then called “Johnny Dangerously,” but that didn’t prompt my brain, it was something else familiar, super-barely, and my search found that Johnny Danger was a comic book detective, who was honest, smart and tough, and whose name spelled Doom to the underworld! Well, holy sh**. That was my kitten! Amazing.

What protective detective doesn't case the place?

Operation Tiny Bug: You know those tiny black and brown beetles? They come out at night. One day I was cleaning, when Johnny was still a tiny kitten, and under my bed, right under where I sleep, not in the general area, but exactly under me, to the nth degree, there was a big pile (relatively) of those little beetle bugs, dead. Every bug was that exact same kind. I was profoundly moved, and it was profoundly funny.
Johnny’s comic was written in 1954, twelve years before I was born, and neither my brother nor I read comics. I wonder if “Johnny Danger” was in the vernacular somewhere, back then. On this site comicbookrealm, JD’s comic book costs $240.00. I’m glad that some exist. I would love to buy that someday... There was just one issue. I wonder why? What happened to Johnny Danger, Private Detective?

Oh, that's right, he's sleeping next to me, keeping me safe.

But wait, there's more! Johnny also has had his portrait painting done. Almost two years ago, at age 4, he went into full-on kidney failure and lived. I had already called him Johnny Fragile before that happened, he'd been to the vet before, Mr. Sensitive. I tell him that the energy required for his extraordinary beauty and brains might have to come from some health issues, in the balance of things. Thanks to that energy, his youth, and perhaps a miracle, he now also has an extraordinary account at Chewy.com, for his special kidney diet food. So we had had a couple of orders delivered, then one day I opened one of Johnny's deliveries, and find this painting of Johnny Danger! It was a real painting on real canvas, by the artist Shari Dickson, from a picture of Johnny that I had included in an email to them for fun.. Wow! Shari Dickson's FB page is SD Art Studios.
It was awesome to find a business for Johnny that practices compassion and humanity as a model, and doesn't make you jump through hoops while finding ways to take absolutely as much of your money as possible. (Lol, I'm thinking of AT&T, naturally, but Insert Your Giant Telecom/Rip-Off Vulture Here.) I admire small businesses, in general, especially those resisting the profit-only at any cost motive. Chewy.com takes care of faxing the vet (prescriptions for animals??), and the things that would be hard for me, but would save them money if I had to do it. And they deliver, fast. They understand what our pets mean to us. The alleviated stress of those little things is great. They are reasonably priced, too. Of course it feels good to be treated nicely, and have your difficult situation recognized. The painting blew me away, I encourage all y'all Steemians with critters to click on Shari's page, and check out Chewy.com.



Thank you, Steemit. Steem on,
- MH
- photos by Cubbyworks, thanks (Canon Powershot, SX520 HS and S3 IS)







Sort:  

Operation Tiny Bug has just the right amount of creepy to it that only a cat could provide.

LOL, @lizzyib! Thanks for the comment! I was about to edit/clarify that JD was a tiny kitten during Operation Tiny Bug, because I see now I failed to emphasize the tiny hunter vs. tiny prey dynamic. You are right, only with cats do we reward things like a decapitated mouse dropped at our feet. Funny.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77