#catsofsteemit Challenge Day 1: Grayson Got Quilled By a Baby Porcupine

This challenge was started by @hickorymack HERE when she noticed #catsofsteemit isn't a trending tag anymore...

Nooooo! We can't has that precious!

So post about your favourite felines for 7 days straight and help bring back #catsofsteemit to trending.

Screen Shot 20190524 at 9.15.54 AM.png

As my title said: Grayson Got Quilled by a Baby Porcupine. You couldn't even make this shit up, the vets were astounded too, they've never seen a cat quilled by a porcupine, never mind a baby one LOL!

Screen Shot 20190524 at 9.13.47 AM.png

Yes, he is an indoor cat too. It was a series of very unfortunate events that lead up to this. A flood in our basement, me leaving (what I thought would be a safe window) a crack open to try and air out the place. Well I should have shoved a stick in it, hindsight being 20/20. I suspect it was their evil mastermind Mini-Mewey who figured out how to get up there and open it. Regardless, the cats got out in the middle of the night and had quite the adventure. Grayson most of all.

IMG_2719.JPG

The worst part was, I didn't even know they got out, or were out all night, they were all in the house in the morning! Later on, we looked outside and effing Mini-Mewey was out there on the deck looking at us. Right away I went to the window and low and behold it was wide open. Still didn't realize Grayson was quilled until much later. Because they were baby quills, they were very small, and by the time I realized he had something hard stuck in his head, they had worked their way into his skin really far!

IMG_2723.JPG

No scratching Mr!

@hendrix22 came down to the rescue, I called him and was like, "Uhhh Grayson has hard needle like things stuck in his head, I looked up porcupine quills, and they seem much bigger than these things in him." Hendrix concluded they must be baby quills, and he successfully removed one from between his ear and eye with a pair of tweezers. The next quill was not so easy :( It fucking broke and went inside his skin!

So, little Greyseaux went to the vet the next morning, got shaved and they had to cut into his face to remove the one which was all the way in his skin. He was put under while they did it, because we killed 2 birds with one stone and got him neutered that day too.

It's sad knowing there will never be another Greyseaux now...I would have loved to breed him, just to get another cat like him, (he fetches, speaks and is the kindest cat I've ever met) but that's very selfish and irresponsible and I'm trying to be a grown up...sniff...I hope he lives a very long life, I couldn't imagine life without my sweet little man...

Sort:  

Awwww, poor Greyseaux! What an adventure, man.
My brother's cat used to fly out the door past our dad and have an adventure all night, too. He was DECLAWED IN THE FRONT tho, so we'd be extra-worried sick, but he'd come sauntering back in the morning like, "Wut?"
One time he shot out onto three feet of snow. He didn't sink in to it, just stayed on top of the pack. He froze, like, "Whaaaaaaaaaaaaat the fuuuuuuuuuuuck" and sloooowly picked his way back to the door where I was waiting like, "Uh huh, not a great idea today, huh?" XD
Salem.jpg
this guy

Aw, he looks so sweet and innocent haha, actually there is a lot of salt in that look he's giving in that pic! Great story Phe :) Perfect thing to read first thing in the AM, I iz Zmile.

Salem was a fun kitteh. Sweet and salty! 😺

So many had to survive Your sweet cat. So sorry that he had this trouble. I hope that he will recover quickly, take care of him :)

Thank you Madlen, he seems to be doing great so far, it has healed very nicely~ :D

Of course he will live long, sis! Cats have 9 lives:) and they are a part of our life for sure! He is so handsome! I like his colour much, like velvet;)

His fur feels so soft, like a chinchilla!

Or like a rabbit!:) My rabbit Iriska is soso soft too:)) i am melting touching her:))

Nice to know that he's alright and was nothing more than a minor inconvenience. It could have been much worse, if you hadn't noticed it on time.

Poor cat, he's not going to chase girls anymore. 😶

It could have been much worse, if you hadn't noticed it on time.

I didn't know that porcupine quills will keep travelling until they come out somewhere else, and with them in his face, yes, super scary! They could have done some real damage.

Must one post with a cat also. Because I didn't have a cat

Do any of your neighbours or friends have a cat? Any cat you see, take a photo of it and use with the #catsofsteemit tag. Do 7 days for the challenge.

Okay I will try

so adorable...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74