Sammi Jo / A Rescue Story (cont.) Chapter 5 / Sammi Jo Gone Wild

in #catsofsteemit5 years ago (edited)

Chapters 1-4

https://steemit.com/catsofsteemit/@krazzytrukker/sammi-jo-a-rescue-story-cont-chapter-4

Chapter 5 / Sammi Jo Gone Wild

Samantha Jo was pretty much a normal kitten in many ways. But you have to remember that both Her Mother & Father were outside feral cats. Sammi Jo’s first human contact was very painful to Her, as we did the minor surgery in haste to save Her life. She did not like human hands touching Her, She will still bite you if you try to touch her stomach. She is lightning fast to be aggressive. Always on the defensive. Her survival instinct seems to be stuck on FIGHT, instead of FLIGHT.

Attack Kitty 2010.JPG

I got this wild idea in my head that Sammi Jo having a litter of kittens would be a wonderful experience. Yes, You read that correctly, but please remember, I was not a "CAT PERSON".

The Overpopulation and 100's of thousands of cats in kill shelters was something i knew nothing about. I resisted my wife Kelly's suggestions that we get Her spay operation done. But i soon realized that an already wild feral rescue cat, “Sammi Jo,” would turn into a total psycho "KrazzyKitty" every so often when going into "Heat."

When Samantha went into heat for the first time, it was like that girl from the exorcist movie. I feared for my life..!! Back to that silly idea I had about Her having kittens, Boy was that a dumb idea. While in heat, She would jump up on my lap, do Her little love me, love me dance, I would reach down to pet Her and BANG..!! I would be bleeding. A scratch, a bite, sometimes both. She snapped at me one time, we were face to face and I yelled…. “Hey Now!” And tried to grab hold of Her….Mistake #1: I raised my voice. Mistake #2: I wrapped my arms around Her to scoop Her up in a hug. She latched on to my chin with a bite so hard it went clear to my chin bone. Boy did that hurt, and it bled like crazy.

Sammi Jo doing the "Love Me Love Me Dance"

Heat Kitty 2012.jpg

I did start to figure it out after a pint or two of blood donations. Sammi Jo is an Alpha Female. She runs toward a fight. There is no backing down in Her. She has the Strong Personality that would protect us from harm. She would chase the Bear out of Her back yard or Attack the Dog who is attacking a little boy like in the viral videos we have all seen. We have also seen this here at home when a couple of the other cats get angry and cry out while playing. She would be the first to run in to investigate it.

It did not help that I was very ignorant in how a feral kitten should be handled. I did not realize that you can not make a Cat do what they do not want to do. Multiply that by 100% with a Wild Cat. I made the mistake of trying to make Her accept my hands by using them as the play toys. I Bled a lot.! I also made the mistake of not backing off when She would start to flip out. I would keep on, not realizing that more touching, talking more, & raising my voice, was the worst thing I could do. Way too many times I would try to grab Her thinking the Hugging or Petting was the answer. I started to think that maybe She had mental problems like She was bi-polar or something. One second She would be nuzzling me and purring. The next second She was growling and ready to strike. It was very depressing and I was lost as to what to do. I needed help! Who could I turn to?

Chapter 6 / Cat Daddy to the Rescue (Coming Soon)

Sort:  


Hello @krazzytrukker!

I noticed you have posted many times since you began your journey on Steemit. That is great! We love active partipants.

I do want to point out that the Introduceyourself tag is meant to be used once only to introduce yourself to the Steemit community. You have now posted 5 times using the introduceyourself tag. Please see this link for more information on Tag Spam?

Please take this into consideration and help build a great platform!

Yup, ferals can be like that. I have a psycho attack kitty too

Howdy there krazzytrukker! wow she sounds like a handful! Or would be if you could touch her. lol. Very interesting though, I never had a feral cat but I'm learning that they're a totally different animal!

Hey there @janton ..! I just got caught up with the Butch / Sundance story. I was 3 behind.!!

But I like that cuz just reading one chapter is never enough, such a great story you are telling about the 2 of them. I was born 100 years later than I shoulda been. I woulda been an outlaw I am sure. LOL

Sammi Jo has changed in the 8 yrs. / 800,000+ miles we have spent together. I will tell the Story of this change, & how the "Cat Daddy Jackson Galaxy" helped to bring this change about.

Samantha & I also went to the rescue of a famous TV Cat named LAVA from an Animal Planets "Cats 101" episode.

So stay tuned...... Chapter 6 soon.

Photo of Lava @ his Furrever Home in Winnepeg Canada after we saved him from some horrible people.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy again tonight krazzytrukker! So you drive about 100,000 miles a year? Does your wife ever go with you?
that's a great looking, sleak cat there! Very fine looking.
Thanks so much for reading and following the series, much appreciated!

She will go on a short day trip now and then to deliver close by, of course I have to bribe Her with the promise of lunch or dinner. She went out with me for a couple months back in 1996, I could not get her to get behind the wheel and drive the big truck. She did not like living on the road. We Usually travel a little more than 100k but close to it.

Howdy back sir krazzytrukker! I don't blame her a bit, that's a tough life but I'm glad she goes every once in a while. Do you have any regular runs or is it whatever you can get and it's always different?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97