Curator Cat on... Black Cats and Dust!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #catsofsteemit5 years ago

Greetings Felines and Hoomans of Steemit!

I hope you are all enjoying the first day of spring (at least if you're in the Northern Hemisphere!), around here it was a beautiful day and unusually warm... so I enjoyed the sunny spots!

And it's a full Moon!

CC0198ShadowPhoto.jpg
Happy Spring, people! And if you're in the southern hemisphere, Happy Fall!

Taking a Sun Bath...

... is a lovely thing, when you're a black cat.

My dark fur really lets me get nice and toasty warm! In the summer, sometimes even too warm...

What else do you get when you put a black cat in the sun?

DUST!

Every little speck of dust shows, and even if I give myself a thorough bath... five minutes later, I'm covered with dust again!

Fortunately, my Hoomans love me just as I am, and don't insist on giving me those horrible water baths they seem to think are a good idea. Maybe for dogs, but not for this cat!

CC0198Face.jpg
Dusty face in the sun...

The Road to Minnowhood continues...

Meanwhile, this is another 100% powered up post, as I and hundreds of other Steemians strive to reach 500SP as part of the great "Minnow Making" drive currently happening, through several initiatives.

There's both @steevc's #TenKMinnows minnows project, which also includes the official @tenkminnows account, and there's also the effort by the @steemcommunity witness team to create 250 new minnows by the end of March.

Why do I care, and why do I keep talking about this?

Because I care — and you should, too — about building a thriving community for the long haul! And the way we can best do that is to empower as many active members as possible, so they can help encourage the new people who join the Steem ecosystem with something more than "dust" upvotes.

This is a community effort. No one person can make this change... this is the power of *thousands of people helping thousands of people. And I hope you will be part of it, too!

Hope you are having a beautiful day!

=^..^=

20190320 0198
100% Powered up!

73.42% of the way to 500SP target!
Goal date: June 30th, 2019

Sort:  

Awesome pics Shadow! It's good when our humans love us. I really like it when they scratch us, and yes! sunshine is a wonderful thing! Enjoy your day!

Thank you @cottonlion! I hope you have had a great day, as well!

=^..^=

Shadow! Do you have two different colored eyes, or is that just the lighting in the photos today? You look so beautiful! <3

Ah, it's just a trick of the light @phoenixwren, I have two amber eyes pretty much the same shade! But thanks for the compliment!

=^..^=

To be a real black cat you will have to cover up your white spots @curatotrcat :-)

Maybe I can get into my Mom-Hooman's mascara...

=^..^=

Black cats are so awesome! So are your photos.
You got my 100% upvote and I hope you reach your goal long before the end of June. :)

Thanks @carolkean, I appreciate the support! I just like the idea of building a more interactive community here, and I feel that can best be done by giving as many people as possible a voice large enough to make a difference... I have no expectations of "riches," from this... just a hope that we can all thrive and grow our little "savings accounts."

=^..^=

Happy Thursday @curatorcat! Looking handsome as usual Shadow ;-). I'm right there with you approaching minnowhood.

Eventually I plan on getting a picture of all four of our black cats: Oscar, Owen, Ezra, and Loki, in a black cat cuddle puddle for a #blackkittensmatter post.

10 years ago when I was still living in Florida I had a little Russian Blue kitten for a little while that I named Shadow. But I lost him due to a break up back then.

Well, we'll get there pretty soon @hippie-witha-gun!

Starting to us the #blackkittensmatter tag, too! Good luck on getting everyone together for that photo.

I love interesting coincidences... my Hoomans also had a little Russian Blue cat named Shadow; she lived to be about 13 years old, but never got bigger than about 6lbs, fully grown.

=^..^=

WOW what a coincidence @curatorcat. I think my ex's Mom renamed my Shadow after the breakup. He is most likely still alive. If so he would be 10 years old now.

I need a white kitty to balance out all our black cats HA HA. Then I can start a White Kittens Matter movement too HA HA. Eventually i do plan on making an ALL kitties matter post as a joke on the black kittens matter tag.

I think there should have been a Kitten napping taking place in that breakup. Did you miss the Hoooman or the Kitten most...?

10390202_896301147053275_5946842467983846054_n.jpg

It was kind of a long story really. At that time I still had my sailboat living down in Florida. I had two cats and my ex had two cats. Then we moved in. Snowy, my old crotchety kitten mittens that I had since I was 12 years old died. Eventually when I can find some of his pictures I plan on making a post about him. Well long story short, Shadow, my little Russian Blue kitten bonded with her cats. They were happy all three of them so it didn't seem right separating them. Plus I ended up moving back with family and they had dogs and it just was better that he remained there with his new kitty cat family with my ex. He was in a better place staying with her or else I would of brought him with me.

Great looking cat. I have one that be his twin.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very partial to black cats around here... actually, we also have a white cat with a couple of black spots.

=^..^=

Happy Spring, @curatorcat!
Enjoy the sun and the nice weather!
You will reach the goal faster I believe and soon you will be a minnow.
!tip

Definitely enjoying springtime @nelinoeva! Just planning to keep plugging away at participating here; slowly making progress. Thanks for the tip!

=^..^=

You are most welcome!

Hi @curatorcat,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Thanks for the support!

=^..^=

🎁 Hi @curatorcat! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @nelinoeva!

@nelinoeva wrote lately about: Shadow Photo Contest Entry - Round #61 Feel free to follow @nelinoeva if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hi @curatorcat, You were entered into the "For the Love of Comments" contest by krazzytrukker and have been selected to receive 0.50 Steem worth of dustsweeping. If you have an account already, this will be added to it, if not an account will be created for you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94