THE MYSTERY OF THE SAGGIN' BELLY

in #catsofsteemit6 years ago

It's true......my belly does sag....but why? I asked my human why this is and this is what she found out. Most folks would believe it's due to us being overweight, and whereas that can be the case, it isn't necessarily. The correct name for the 'sagging belly' is the primordial pouch. This pouch is part of our anatomy and serves many purposes, especially in the wild.

IMG_4536.jpeg

If you've ever watched us kitties fight or even during play, you'll see what my human calls 'kangarooing' the opponent or playmates belly. This pouch provides extra protection for vital organs that otherwise would be subject to injury. If you also watch our movements, this pouch gives the extra 'give' needed to stretch out while in full run.

IMG_4537.jpeg

It's also speculated that this added pouch provides a little extra room for food storage. After all, a kitty in the wild might not know when their next meal is. Thank goodness I don't have to worry about that! My human feeds me very well with all the trout kitty food I can eat! And, no, I am not a lazy lay around boy! I run daily through the house from one end to the other multiple times during the day and get plenty of exercise. My pouch aids in stretching out during my daily flights!

Well, that wraps this up for now! I hope you've enjoyed the mystery of the saggin' belly. MEOW!!

Sort:  

Whew! What a relief! I was beginning to think I was the only one with this problem. Thanks for the information! Have a purrr-fect day!

What a handsome belly you have! It looks soft! Keep up the daily runs! :)

Cats! I don't have that problem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66