Birthday boy!!

in #cats6 years ago (edited)

I’m going to take some time to introduce my cat Leroy Winston. Leroy came into my life on May 14, 2015 at just 10 weeks old. With him turning 3 today March 10th!!!! I can’t help but find myself feeling a little mushy gushy and reminiscing about the past 3(almost) years we have spent together.

image

I first want to start off with...go ahead and label me a “crazy cat lady,” it’s nothing new. For some reason it is completely acceptable for people to talk about their dogs and how much joy they bring to them and yet cat lovers go to talk about their cat or cats and BOOM they’re crazy. Well guess what, IDGAF!

image
image

That’s Leroy when I first got him, just a tiny and curious little fellow. In the beginning, Leroy and I would make regular weekend trips to visit my family with a total driving time of about 6.5 hours in the car. It was my goal to get him used to riding so that we could continue going to road trips together. To this day Leroy is chill as fuck in the car. See the pictures below.

image
image
image

Leroy is the cat that makes people who don’t like cats...like cats, or at least love him. I’ve had a few friends who were adamant about not liking cats and within five minutes of meeting Leroy were fawning after him. He is everyone’s friend and especially digs the ladies.

image
image
image

A cat with quirks, Leroy is obsessed with chocolate ice cream to the point that he will meow my head off from the time I walk in the door with ice cream from my favorite ice cream place here in Asheville (Frostbite, will def do a post on them later!!) just for his share. He’s not big on other human food though, especially if it has seasonings on it, and no cheese (such a weird cat). If you’re around him and drinking something out of a plastic bottle, you better not take your eyes off of your bottle cap because he will steal it and start playing with it before you even realize it is gone. He also fetches bottle caps and will fetch all day long if you’d be willing to throw it. I’ve also never met a cat who doesn’t care about dogs, like at all. He will taunt them but doesn’t give one flying shit about them otherwise. Perhaps it’s just how friendly he is.

image
image
image

I’ve been meaning to get Leroy certified as my emotional support animal. He is my saving grace when I need to be brought back to reality. Sometimes my anxiety is just too much but all it takes is a quick snuggle with my boy for my anxiety levels to drop. Now that’s not to say I don’t go back 3, 4, or even 5 more times before I can continue on with what I have to do but he helps. It also helps knowing that if I am somewhere other than at home and my anxiety takes over, Leroy is there waiting for me. It puts my mind at ease just knowing he is there for me.

image
image
image

I knew when I adopted Leroy that he’d be one of my most favorite beings ever, however I didn’t realize how much love I’d end up loving him. If that makes me a crazy cat lady then so be it, at least I’m happy, healthy, and have my cat.

image

Sort:  

At 4 weeks, it is important to play with kittens so that they do not develope a fear of people.

Cats have supersonic hearing

He's very photogenic :)

Thank you!!!! I think the same thing but I know I am biased.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60603.53
ETH 2702.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44