Have an Active Cat That LOVES to Climb? Here's a SIMPLE to Build "Tree" and "Perch" They'll LOVE!

in #cats8 years ago

Bengal Cats LOVE High Places and Climbing

Since day one, my bengal kitten has looked for ways to reach the highest points in the house. This handy little construction project provides both a climbing 'TREE" as well as two "PERCHES" for him to look over the room with.

Here's a photo of the finished project:

Materials

  • 1 2x4 about 5 feet long
  • (3) 8" Shelf Angle Brackets
  • (2) 6" Shelf Angle Brackets
  • 1/2 Inch Plywood piece about 10 inches wide and 3 feet long
  • 1/2 Inch Plywood piece about 8 inches wide and 2 feet long
  • Enough Carpet to cover the plywood surfaces, with a flap over the ends

Tools

T-50 Stapler
Utility Knife
Saw (if needed)
Screwdriver & Matching Screws 2 and 1/2 inches long
Bolts & Nuts with matching drill bit and wrench for shelf brackets

Construction

I found a stud in the middle of the wall, placed the 2x4 against it and drove 4 screws through the 2x4 to secure it. I then cut a piece of carpet the length of the 2x4, wide enough to wrap around it. I stapled the carpet securely to the 2x4, starting with one full edge and wrapping it across the front. I also cut a strip of carpet and stapled it across the top, covering the bare wood.

This completed the 'TREE' for the kitty. On to the perches!

I located 2 studs on the wall to the left of the 2x4 TREE and about 5-6 inches below the top of it. I wanted my kitty to be able to jump to the side and down to the perch, I didn't believe he would be comfortable jumping 'up' from the 2x4 against the wall. As it turns out he is very comfortable jumping to the side and down, just like I expected. :)

I screwed the 6 inch angle brackets to the wall, placed the small shelf on it and marked the bracket holes. I took the board down, drilled the holes and mounted the board using the bolts. This one was easy to reach.

The top perch I made sure to include an overhang, allowing kitty to look down the hall, into the bathroom and even into the tub, through the crack of the door. He absolutely loves this feature, so glad I included it. You may not have a high enough ceiling, hopefully you do.

I found the studs in the wall and tacked the 8" brackets with 1 screw each. I then placed the top shelf on the brackets. I positioned the overhang and marked the bracket holes. Since the shelf was larger and up higher, I took the brackets off the wall and bolted them to the shelf, the same way I did with the smaller shelf.

The hardest part was balancing the shelf, with brackets, on my head and starting the first screw. LOL I'm sure I looked pretty funny. :) I would hope you have a helping hand, everyone in my house was busy with other things.

Hope Your Kitty Loves This As Much As Mine Does!

He climbs his tree, all day, every day. It took him a full day before he began jumping to the highest perch, it taunted him and he tested his reach a bit before trying.

Now he's a top-perch kitty, up and up and over in seconds. I'll post a photo in the comments when I get one of him up there later. :) Enjoy!
#cats #DIY #cattoys #cute

Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 4.8 and reading ease of 96%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

Thank you :)

Glad you liked it.

Tough to Resist the Yarn! Muahahahahaha!

Here he is, after chasing the yarn on the fishing pole up the wall and onto the top shelf. :)

Nice, the bot already made .07 off a comment on my post. lol

Good thing the cat appreciates it! :D

The Strips You See Hanging?

Plastic packing straps. They came from an a/c unit I purchased. The straps have just enough spring in them from the bends, they don't act like limp string and bounce around a bit more.

Kitty LOVES them!

Best New Napping Spot!

Dude now sleeps up on the top shelf, where it's always in a shadier spot in the room and he has a commanding view of the room.

Easily Able to Peek Over the Edge

When noises of interest occur, Dude only has to look over the edge to quickly asses whether it needs cat attention or not. He's not too fond of paperazzi with the flash on...

"Seriously? I'm Trying to Get Some Sleep Here!"

Yes, Thank You For My Shelf

You can see he's verrry happy with it in the following photo. Such a great looking cat!

Hope your cat enjoys your efforts as much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51