Caturday / Ching Meng Day (Tomb-Sweeping Day)

in #cats6 years ago (edited)

I missed out on a couple of Caturdays because I was too excited with my new microscope. So I thought I would let Soju be the star of today's blog. Plus I owe it to her because today we had a gathering for Ching Meng day. Also known as 'Tomb-Sweeping Day' or 'Chinese Memorial Day' or 'Ancestors' Day'. Either way we (including my relatives) meet at the cemetery to clean, pray and present food offerings at our grandmother's grave. Oh and there was also the burning of joss paper, aka ghost money.

A few years back my mum told me my grandmother likes the yellow/pink flower like joss paper, so she makes sure to buy it to burn for her. So I thought I would ask my mum which she likes so I know what to buy/burn for her. She was about to tell me but then she paused before telling me off because she was offended I even asked considering how alive and kicking she was. But she laughed it off and left me wondering. If you ask me, I think she would like the money and handbag joss paper hehehehe and probably the gold bars.

juju.JPG

Okay I got sidetracked again, so back to the story. After we gathered at the cemetry we headed off to our place to eat and catch up. Due to the large amount of people going in and out the house where Soju usually hangs out, we had to lock her up in our bedroom. The poor thing was upset and had a sook in her little cozy cat cave. Once the back area was cleared, we let her have her area back, but we were still outside at the front chatting to our cousins. So Soju was still upset and meowing for company.

Cats are funny, especially Soju. She is our daughter and she acts like one at times. Annoying. hahaha We have gone away a few times and a couple of times while packing, she decided all we needed to pack was her. My favourite photo of this is the one with the backpack. I had just unzipped the backpack, turned around to grab some clothes, turn around again to pop them in and found this. It was pretty cute.

I also love it when she comes for cuddles in bed. Sometimes she scares the shit out of me when she touches her wet nose onto mine while I'm sleeping. If I don't open the blankets for her to come into bed, she would try to find her way under then meow at me. Not sure if it was a meow for 'hey I'm here, don't squish me' or 'if you won't let me in, I'll let myself in'. Other times she just sleeps next to one of us then we wake up and find we have an extra pillow.


Of course cats have their morning too where they don't want to get out of bed. When this happens I just make the bed over Soju and let her catch a few more zzzzz. She doesn't bother getting out of bed, even when I open the door.



Doesn't she look like a fluffy fur hat here? Usually she would make herself more comfy and crawl further into the blankets until she is ready to come out and play.

Sort:  

Soju is very adorable and it looks very funny inside the bag. I also love getting inside the bags <3

Nice that you all get together as a family like that. Of course, what more would you need other than Soju. She is such a beautiful cat, I really want a Rag Doll Cat after seeing her.

hehehe Ragdolls are funny cats, you should get one lol

She is so gorgeous. Like a cute cuddly cloud. I think she has earned the title of princess sojo.
You know when she was meowing and like a nuaghty clild, I hear it runs in the family, like mother like daughter.

hahaha yes she is a princess for sure, a demanding one at times.
😹😹 that's what my partner says to me, 'mother like daughter' when we do things similar. Or he says I sound like Soju when I whine as he tries to wake me up or annoys me. Then we wonder if Soju learnt that from me. lol

I say the same thing back when they both do something similar. Such as 'you're a messy eater just like your daughter' or 'you're a messy eater just like your father'. 😹I also call her daddy's little girl. hahaha He had given her treats for no reason when we agreed not to when we were in the middle of training her something. But proceeds to put the blame her when I bust him.

It's pretty funny, the three of us like to annoy each other and we pick up each other's habits. I especially love seeing them two together, it warms up my heart.

Poor Soju, missing yet another caturday...😿. It’s alright, Auntie Linny is still thinking of you. 😘

LOL

@holger80. I’m going to try this, I hope it works!

$rewarding 100%

Seems to have worked :).

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I voted the rewarding comment too early. I should have waiting for the reminder, but I wasn’t sure what to expect. Never mind. Next time! :)

The reward of this comment goes 100 % to the author supersoju. This is done by setting the beneficiaries of this comment to 100 %.

@linnyplant, the comment can be upvoted now.


You can give rewarding the posting authory for an automatic upvote (steemconnect

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91