Cats from my neighbourhood

in #cats6 years ago (edited)

Dogs are common pets in Nepal. They are at people's home and on the streets. I grew up with the company of dogs. At any given time, we'd have 3 or four dogs at home. When some of our dogs gave birth, we would end up having 10 or 12 of them at a time until some people came and adopted them. Since I live in Singapore these days, I don't have chance to play with my favorite animals but I am presented with completely different four legged friend who purrs.

DSC02223.JPG
(This is a friendly cat. He likes to come near me and rub his body against my leg)

Cats are common sight in Singapore. They are everywhere. A lot of Singaporean's live in an apartment so they keep cats as they are relatively easier to keep as pets than dogs. Cats need less attention unlike dogs who needs more care.

DSC02231.JPG
(These two are siblings. One is very shy and the other is playful. One likes to play with me but the other one always runs away any time I approach them)

I am slowly getting accustomed to playing with cats in my neighborhood. At void deck of my apartment building, there are three resident cats. There are more in the vicinity as well. Three of them are permanently there all the time. It seems that some kind-hearted people have even provided a nice little cushioned home for them to sleep on.

DSC02250.JPG
(Photos: Sunil C. Sharma)

Sort:  

A nice soulful post on the companionship offered by community cats. It's great that kind hearted people care for these shared felines.

The life expectancy of cats has nearly doubled since 1930 - from 8 to 16 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00