Protect Songbirds from Pet Cats

in #cats8 years ago

As I was drifting off to sleep last night, I heard a squealing sound that raised the hairs on my neck: it was a rabbit, falling prey to some predator. If you’ve never heard a rabbit’s scream, its piercing tone can take you by surprise. This morning, when my sons awoke at dawn, I overheard their conversation by the front door:

“It’s a rat!”
“It’s dead!”
“No, it’s sleeping!”

Ah, the innocence of a three year old, where it still might be possible for a decapitated victim to be merely “sleeping.” I don’t relish the predatory habits of our indoor-outdoor cat, but I do try to limit his hunting. Although I feel only a little bit sorry for the plant-munching rabbits and voles he drags up on the porch, I take great care to prevent him from bagging any songbirds in my garden.


source

If you have a cat that goes outside, implement these steps to protect your native bird population:

  • Keep your cat indoors at dawn and dusk, when bird-feeding activity is at its peak.
  • Clear the brush away from any birdfeeders that are within pouncing distance of your cat, to deny him a hiding place.
  • Place a bell on your cat’s collar.
  • Trim your cat’s claws.
  • Consider using a CatBib device to disarm cats that only go outside for brief visits.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82