Red Cat - Work In Progress, Painting

in #cats7 years ago

Again good to see you here, Steemster!

This cute little cat was one of the best cats I know. He was called Broer (which is Dutch for Brother), and he had a tortoiseshell-cat as company. She is called - how could it be - Zus (which is the Dutch word for Sister). They were cats from my aunt, and when we sewed together, I always got covered with red cathairs from Broer. He was always in for a good petting session, and so was I (to do the petting, of course).

Kat6.jpg

I made the reference for this painting with my smartphone, and loved the contrast with the green chair, and the colourful antique lamp in the background. So I had to paint this round-headed furball.

Kat1.jpg

Kat2.jpg

It is so lovely to paint all these different kinds of red. Orangey, even yellow and white parts, and the burnt sienna/dark red stripes. Also the eyes were an indulgence to paint. With the huge pupils, and the cresent moonlike bright iris at the bottom of the eyes. Feast!

Kat4.jpg

At last, the hard part; the long, white whiskers. The hard part is not only the thin, vast line I needed to make per sensitive facial hair, but the fact that one layer wasn't covering enough. So some whiskers I needed to paint two to three times! But in the end I don't hate the product of it. And the painting now houses at my aunt and uncle, in the South of the Netherlands. They were happy with this gift!

Kat6.jpg

Unfortunally, as you might have noticed since I wrote the pieces about Broer in the past tense, this beautiful little cat is deceased. I heard he crawled on the table, laid very still, and suddenly died, which is very unusual for cats. Often they find a hidden spot to die, so probably he was surprised of his nearing death as much as we were... So this blog I write in remembrance of sweet Broer. Thanks for the warm moments.

Thanks for reading, and thanks for voting! Or in Dutch: Dankjewel voor je bezoekje en het stemmen :)

Feel free to check my Social Media accounts:

Etsy-shop: https://www.etsy.com/nl/shop/MariekedeStip
Facebookpage: https://www.facebook.com/MariekedeStip/
Website: http://MariekedeStip.nl/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/MariekedeStip.nl/

Sort:  

Do you do pet portraits? I will def follow you I love the painting!!!

Yes I do! Also abroad. In fact; I am workin on one right now, @rachelmarie206
Thanks for following and your compliment!

Your welcome, and also welcome to steemit, it's so much fun I love it. Hope you have a sucessful venture here, I'm sure you will your paintings are great you are a really good artist, you should check out some of my friends paintings @honeycombwinnie he's got some really cool paintings, some may even make you laugh.

@honeycombwinnie makes awesome work! I immediately followed her :)
Thanks for your warm welcome, @rachelmarie206 :) going to check your page out right now!

Thanks and He does make cool work, thanks for checking out my blog.

You're welcome :)

great job i like the colors , and your style.

Oh thanks @bydan for your visit!! And thanks for your compliments :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59356.21
ETH 2723.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53