INDISPENSABLE / ROOM

in #cats6 years ago

I couldn't have all of my 10, now 11 cats that I have now without my "Front Porch". It was originally built as an open porch with the house in 1930's. The previous owner had it closed in. I came along and had the windows replaced with double pane and added heat.

When I first had the "Three Stooges" Moe. Larry and Curly this room was used as their den. During the day they would have the run of the house, but at night they would be closed up on the porch with their litter boxes and water. They were 12 weeks old when I got them and a constant world wind. I figured I would sleep better if we had separate quarters.

IMG_2818.JPG

Porch today

IMG_7785.JPG

This porch was used as a safe area for Mommy cat aka Good Girl while she nursed her 4 kittens. They were separated from my house cats Larry, Curly and Dexter who got to see and smell them through 2 screened windows.

The front faces west and becomes a perfect sun room. Unfortunately this is where I keep most of their litter boxes. That's because Outside cat Scary Mary is in the basement and must be separated from the house cats. I'm working on making her part of the family if possible. The litter would be in the basement otherwise.

When I trapped Scary Mary's 5 wild kittens this is where they went. In cages at first then the whole room. It measures almost 18 feet by 8 feet . Just right for this purpose.

IMG_1526.JPG
Mommy aka Good Girl and babies
IMG_3210.JPG

IMG_3533.JPG

Audrey, Tina and Betty ...

IMG_1045.JPG

Moe, Larry and Curly

61z57DruHHL._SL1000_.jpg

So without this room there would be less cats, maybe.

Sort:  

You have a beautiful house and the porch is perfect for them. Good luck adding Scary Mary. I only say that because once an outdoor cat, they always want to be out and in, when the weather gets nice. I have never know one to become an all indoor cat. How is SM doing?

Not mommy cat, she will not go out when i open the door.

IMG_2486.JPG

You got lucky with her. You didn't answer my question...how is SM doing?

She is content being in the basement as long has I spend time with her. intro to house cats not starting out well. She may be a one household cat only.

Another outside cat content in the house? You are so lucky. And you began the introduction? How did her kitties react to her? Sorry it isn't going well. So she is the one who is skittish of the others?

I open basement door with Mary right there. First I put Mickey in front of her' They both stretched out nose to nose for 15 or so seconds. Then the Scary girl smacked him on the side of the face' Did the same to Patty but didn't connect. Also hiss at Betty and Patty.

Well that sure does surprise me. I thought for sure they would know by scent or instinct that they were related. Scary Mary is now scary for her own litter. Sorry to hear that.

Been nine months when they parted.

I love that you take such good care of the kitties Mike!! You made an awesome space for them and they look loved and happy!! 😊

All a front to attract steem money. lol

Ha Ha .. All a front..porch!! ;)

That works out so nicely for all of you, they look very comfy and seems they all get along which is great for you.

Get along for the most part. Guess it could be a lot worse.

Yah, you are cat lover? Me too. Next I'd like to show you my cats.. they look great and I love them so much

Cool, would love to see and know about them.

How much care and devotion you are given them!

Thanks. always not enough.

Very beautiful photos. I didnt know that they had their own room. It is really nice and well organized to satisfy all their needs :)

No room less cats. :-)

Nooo the room should be always there and all the naughty kitties should enjoy the life :)

Amazing, thank you for your post👏👏👏👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59991.95
ETH 2664.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45