My Beautiful Kitty, Bindi.... a Miracle

in #cats7 years ago (edited)

     As a mom to six beautiful kitties, I can't help but brag and take photos of them all the time! Hard to believe I once was a vehement cat hater!! 

   This is Bindi, the oldest of our six kitties, the Aunt of four of them. She is the sister of the deceased mother of our four, seven year old kitties. I named Bindi after Bindi Irwin as I really liked the name. Bindi Irwin lost her father soon after our Bindi was born in 2006. 

    Bindi was born in our yard to a feral mother, along with her brother, Scooter, who passed away last year after an illness. Bindi spent her first seven years living outside, loving her free existence, coming home to eat and play but only outside on her terms. 

     One day, Bindi did not return. She didn't return the next day, the next, the next week, and at three months we resigned ourselves that she was gone for good, most likely dead.  My heart was broken as she had gone from feral to sweet, and was such a beautiful soul inside and out.

      Around the three month mark, my husband was taking our trash cans to the curb around 10 pm and he heard a cat call, turned and saw what appeared to be Bindi walking towards him! Sure enough, it was Bindi, dirty and then but alive and walking on her own four legs home again. My husband scoped her up and brought Bindi into our bedroom. She was not at all fighting with him over coming inside as she usually would. We looked her over and found no wounds, just a very filthy, skinny, scared Bindi. 

    What had happened to her during those three months? Where had she been? We have our suspicions as a neighbor hates cats! We think she may have been captured and taken to the desert and dumped out to die. We don't have any real proof but this is highly likely as the same neighbor has killed a few other cats. I believe our Bindi, with her feral instinct was able to find her way home. How she was able to avoid vehicles, Coyotes, etc. is a real miracle.

     We had some wipes for cats and proceeded to wipe Bindi down, a bath would have been way too tramatic for her. She ate and went right to sleep on our bed, assured she was now safe. 

     Bindi has never left our bedroom since she came in that night. She is free to come and go as she please all over the house but chooses to stay in our bedroom. She has become my little sleeping buddy, looking for cuddles and belly rubs. Although we will never know exactly what she experienced during her ordeal, we can now give her the very best life inside that we always wanted for her. I can only hope that whatever happened somehow has been erased from her memories.

#TSUFamily


If you enjoy my work, please follow me, LoloMarie

Sort:  

Congratulations @lolomarie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Ooooooh 3 months, that is just awful. I was about to tell you that when our Koekert was missing for over a week i had problems with eating and sleeping, i was thus worried ! But three months! How lucky she came back!!! ♡

Thank you Dutchess, yes three months I had already grieved for her death. I was certain she was gone for good. It was like a reserection to see my husband walk into our bedroom with her in his arms! I couldn't have been more thankful and happy to see her.

Yes! I can imagine!

great story lolo marie , upvoted and resteemed and followed

Thank you Stresskiller, I appreciate the upvote and resteem. I am so far having a problem getting in front of people!

it takes time i'm only 55 days active here and still learn a lot daily

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56