๐Ÿ’– Lunara giving birth to three kittens ๐Ÿฑ๐Ÿฑ๐Ÿฑ

in #cats โ€ข 7 years ago

๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’– This is the story of my wonderful Lunara's labour over two days. She gave birth to three beautiful and healthy kittens.

IMG_4965.jpg

Lunara went into the first stage of labour on the morning of the 16th October. I thought she's just very hungry because she was very vocal when i woke up. She's not a very loud cat, barely meows at all. I went downstairs to feed her but she wouldn't stop the crying. She just stood on the stairs and meowed. When i got closer to her she ran up one stair and kept meowing. I followed and she went up another. It clicked. She wanted me to follow her. We went upstairs and she ran straight into her pan I made for her as a whelping box. I knew what was going on then.

I watched her for a while laying in there and looking at me, purring rhythmically. I got up to brush my teeth but a minute later I saw her behind me. She kept meowing. I put the brush down and followed her back into the room. She went inside the cage again. From that point on, she just wouldn't let me leave. I knew she needed to rest to gather her energies but I had to feed Onyx and brush my teeth! So I locked her, gathered everything I'd need for the day and camped outside her cage on a blanket.

She looked very sad and like she was in a lot of pain. I felt so bad for her but I knew that her little body is preparing itself to soon bring new life to this earth. It took so long. I was up and watching her between 8 am and midnight but I eventually dozed off and fell asleep.

IMG_4880.jpg

I dreamt about kittens. They were so cute and cuddle but they were hungry too and started to squeak so loudly! Wait, what??! Is this a dream? My eyes just popped out when i realised the squeak I hear isn't in my dream. I grabbed a torch and looked inside the cage. A baby was just born! He was still wet and looking for the nipple while Lunara was munching on the placenta. I didn't see much because she was facing towards the wall.

IMG_4886.jpg

When she moved I saw another another baby, already dry feeding. I was so nervous and excited at the same time. She was panting but tirelessly cleaning the kittens and doing all her jobs as a new mummy cat. The kittens were adorable and so tiny. They finally started drying up a bit and I could see their beautiful silver tabby coats.

2 hours passed, I was still looking at these amazing creatures when Lunara's belly twitched over and over again. More contractions! She's about to have another? I tried to video it all but she was so quick, it just slipped out. It was so amazing to see how wonderful nature is. Lunara knew how to do everything. I didn't have to help. She cut the umbilical cord with her teeth, ate the placenta and dried the new baby. I just saw that this one was a little bit different, it had white patches on the legs and belly. A bicolor silver tabby!

IMG_4942.jpg

After this, there was no more babies. She finally got her rest while the kittens fought over the same nipple. I watched her for three days. I was mesmerised. I still am and will always be. I'm so proud of her being such a good momma. I love you my baby Lunara! ๐Ÿฑ

Sort: ย 

Hi there, @kitties What a beautiful story of your Lunara. And her adorable babies. We are from The Curator. (A post style magazine on Steemit) We do curating for informative, creative, entertaining, yet undervalued posts. We love your fantastic post. And we feel that it is undervalued. We would like to share it in our magazine. But first, we would like to ask for your permission to add your post to our next issue, With a picture from your post. That we will use as a thumbnail, We will share a portion of the post gifts. With the posts that we share in the upcoming issue. If you agree to this. Please let us know below this comment. At your earliest convenience.
Thank you. PostHuntress, @the-curator
And keep on Steeming your wonderful posts.

Hello, I am so sorry for the super late reply. I got fed up with the website at the time as it never wanted to load so I turned away from it. Today I decided to come back and saw your post. If it isn't too late, I'd be thrilled to be featured in your magazine. <3 Thank you x

Tabby cats are thought to get their name from Attab, a district in Baghdad, now the capital of Iraq.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59364.81
ETH 2658.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49